"BE OK" - an UNDERSTATEMENT - the MONDAY MOOD ELIXER

in #happy7 years ago (edited)

Last weekend I watched the Dutch movie "Ja, Ik Wil!" (translated: Yes, I Want!"), a movie about a woman in her mid thirties getting dumped by her boyfriend after a four year relationship. Now she needs to find quickly another guy, since she is pretty scared to end up some old lady without having the chance to become a mother.

The movie was kinda entertaining being a comedy, but certainly nothing special. It was just at the good side of the line of having wasted time. Although I had this hunch already in the first minute, I wanted to give it a try, most likely because of the opening song "Be Ok" by Ingrid Michaelson.

"Be Ok" is a song published a little less than a decade ago. A song I didn't hear for some time now. A song used a lot in commercials, series and movies. A song giving good vibes and mood. A song getting you moving, quite automatically. A very catchy song for sure!

image: ingrid michaelson | source orignal photograph

I never dug into the repertoire of Ingrid; Some of the songs I know, most of them not. I think many of the songs are covers. Guess some of the songs maybe hers. I could have researched a bit, but who cares. In the end it is about the music itself, and whether we/I like it or not.

Today, I listened to the entire album "Be Ok" and I think it is pretty ok. I'm not at all a lyrics guy; Sometimes I can sing along certain songs, but I rarely know what I'm hearing and even singing. I guess I just close my analytical side of my brains for lyrics. Vocals are for me an instrument. Therefore it is super important for me, I like the voice in all aspects.

Ingrid's voice is certainly a voice I like, which results in the fact I actually like her album "Be Ok" although the main ingredient is her voice. It didn't get boring at all. Quite minimalistic music: each track a single or two instruments, a ukulele, a guitar, a piano, a harmonica, a flute of some sort and a voice singing. I would say this is sing/songwriter, but read somewhere a classification of Indie/Pop.

Ingrid supposed to show some humour with and in the album, some lyrics are - apparently - telling some humorous stories. Well, I leave it up to those who like to really listen to the stories to determine if what I've read is indeed true.

NJOY this Monday with Ingrid in your Ears


Artist: Ingrid Michaelson
Album: Be Ok
Year: 2008
Country: USA

source youtube | spotify


Tracks
Be OK
Giving Up
Over The Rainbow
The Chain
Lady In Spain
Keep Breathing
Oh What A Day
The Way I Am
Can't Help Falling In Love
You And I
Be OK (Acoustic)

Artist Music
Spotify Soundcloud YouTube

Artist Discography
Discogs

Artist Gigs
Website

Artist Website
Website

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing about the Dutch movie you watched,Watching a movie is to relax your nerves and be entertained. You don't get so much from watching a movie.The song 'Be OK' is also a nice song.

I don't really know the artist though nice one

Thanks for sharing is very nice happy New year

Well thanks, but New Year happened already a couple of months ago.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63271.81
ETH 2568.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80