A Road to a Happier You: Peace, Love, and Compassion

in #happy6 years ago

image

I’ve worked the last two days with no voice (well a terrible voice). Most of the people that have talked to have have been pretty understanding and nice about it. One, single person wasn’t. It got under my skin. It made me so mad.
After I picked Aiden up from school he was telling me about kids picking on him. I told him what they had to say about him wasn’t so much a reflection of him but more a reflection of their character. I told him that their attitudes won’t get them far in life.
I wasn’t sure if I should get on my mat and practice (yoga) today because I am so congested. I decided to do it anyway. I’m so thankful I did. As many times in my practice, I had an “ah-ha” moment: the same thing I was preaching to my child I need to remember as an adult. Now, I normally don’t let one person’s comment about me get under my skin. So why did this make my blood boil today? Honestly, it’s probably because I wasn’t feeling well.
I understand now. The person’s complaint about my scratchy voice (and that persons demand that I go home) was not because I am a terrible human for trying to work (during a very busy time for my company) but it was a signal that this person was frustrated with the entire situation. It was an insult, but by taking it on I accomplished nothing but being aggravated.
So, I again remember the lesson that what other people say or think of me doesn’t matter as much as what I put into my world. I want a world of peace and love; so that’s what I need to put in my world.

Sort:  

I told him what they had to say about him wasn’t so much a reflection of him but more a reflection of their character. I told him that their attitudes won’t get them far in life.

Awesome parenting mom!

It's so ridiculously easy to forget our own values and beliefs as we go about our crazy days. Great story, thank you so much for sharing.

I want a world of peace and love; so that’s what I need to put in my world.

Indeed! I also want peace and love so again I say thank you for your insight and wisdom. Cheers!

Wow one more beautiful post, I like it <3

Wish you a Nice Day.
you can see, I have a nice post about Shiva sadhu in India and Photos.
Regard Joshi

I like to do yoga but I am a beginner. I would to do this exercise alone without a instructor. I have to propose it but I am a litlle lazy

For beginners I always recommend a teacher. A good teacher is invaluable

"what other people say or think of me doesn’t matter as much as what I put into my world. I want a world of peace and love; so that’s what I need to put in my world."
Couldn't agree with these assertions more 👆 which sums up the whole narrative. Thanks for sharing this with us .

I really like how you deal with day to day situations,we all should stop and think about the things that happen in our life,especially the negative ones!We can not just let everything pass by

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65744.86
ETH 3466.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62