His self respect and honesty sets a great example

in #happy7 years ago

1-2.jpg
I was in school when I used to pass by Goregaon station almost every day. Almost eight years ago. Like other Mumbaikars I was also busy with my own life. Unlike others, I used to see a man on the footover bridge, selling some stuff from a suitcase. Each day I saw him there with a constant smile on his face. Neither did I ever buy anything from him, nor did I even speak to him on those countless number of times I saw him.

A few months back I read an article about the same man and for the first time his smiling face crossed my mind while I was nowhere near Goregaon station. The article really inspired me to go and talk to him.
The following Saturday, I did. I was on my way back from class when I reached the Goregaon footover bridge. The first thing I did was look for this man. There he was. It was at that moment that I was introduced to the small, but happy life of 52 year old Dilip Jain.

Spastic with a tiny figure, his shrivelled body gives no warning to the mountainous self-respect he lives with. His condition may have overcome him physically. But he hasn’t allowed it to taint what makes him whole. Honesty and self-belief.
Dilip’s childhood did include a school. But left it right after the 8th grade. He even remembers his bad handwriting. Due to financial problems, he wasn’t able to complete his studies. But he was always eager to read and learn.

Dilip is a true inspiration. He didn’t back let anything hold him back from building a small world for himself in a corner of Goregaon station.

He isn’t looking for anybody’s sympathy. He even refuses any extra money or ‘tip’ that people offer him without buying anything from him.
For the past 20 years, he’s been selling a small range of essentials:
Pen
Socks
Handkerchief
Comb
Pass Cover

The prices range from Rs. 5 – Rs. 20.

For Dilip, home is in Goregaon West with his elder brother, his wife and their 2 kids. His brother is extremely supportive of Dilip’s work and gets him the items he needs from a Malad and brings it to him. In the former years of Dilip’s world in the Goregaon Station he used to earn about Rs. 500 a day. And now that’s reduced to Rs. 100 a day.

His usual position is at the new crossover at Goregaon station. He comes at 9:30 in the morning, with food from home, and stays till 8pm.

I asked him why he doesn’t stay at home instead. He can relax and watch TV since his brother can support himself along with his own family. Why does he work instead? "Timepass bhi toh hona chahiye" was his simple reply.

God gives life to each one of us. How you live it is your choice.
There are millions of Dilip Jains out there who have chosen to stand, fight and survive on their own. Our small contribution towards helping them in their battle could change a life and change us along the way as well. I sincerely urge you all to spend a few minutes of your lives to add to someone else's. Buy a pen or just stop to say hello. It’s the least you can do for someone who is doing everything he possibly can to make life easier for himself.

For all those who stay or travel to and from Goregaon station, please spread the word! May that smile always remain on Dilip’s cheerful face.
2-1.jpg

3-1.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58990.94
ETH 2670.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44