Decision Making - Why We Should Cherish The Here and NowsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #happiness7 years ago (edited)

'Life is made up, not of great sacrifices or duties, but of little things, in which smiles and kindness, and small obligations given habitually, are what preserve the heart and secure the comfort.' - Humphy Davy 

We usually strive for harder, better, faster, stronger or whatever superlative attribute the remote future might be holding for us.

In the meantime we miss all these shiny little events at the corner of our eye.

Picture: Me and my monkey (ice cream) on the 7th of April 2017. No filters applied.

Cherish The Here And Now

Perhaps happiness lies in the pursuit of short term pleasure. 

I was quite talented in planning my future story. My imagination created some amazing ideas, prepared some oustanding milestones and great achievements. 

Dreams, visions and goals are key to our personal growth. However, while we are looking ahead we should recognize that life is neither what happend in the past nor what´s going to occur in the future. 

Life is now. 

It´s the little things ready to hand that provide us with vitality, pleasure and joy.
It´s the instant moment that really matters and that is able to change us.

'Life happens while you are busy making other plans.' - John Lennon

It took me some decades to understand these words. 

Yes, I believe life will offer me some great opportunities in the future and I am constantly working towards them. However, these ideas don´t fulfill me at the present time. 

It´s the freedom of stopping time what really nurtures me today.
No shoes, no smartphone, no problems.  

Picture: Shirt "Always Known It Was You". No filters applied.

Chose Your Dreams Carefully (a true story)

The fact that people need to be constantly available in today´s world, is a serious issue.
It really makes us sick. 
 

Not too many months ago I was working as an Excecutive Assistant at one of the most influential and powerful companies of the area. 

My job was my life and the other way around. I was available 24 hours per day and 7 days per week. 

From the very first contact over several job interviews until the final signing of an agreement it took me 1 year. 12 months of fighting for my supposed DREAM JOB.

I perfectly remember the very first moment I started to challenge the authenticity of my dream. It was at a point of time when I had been in charge for this empire during several months. They gave me one day off which was a clear exception. I went surfing.

When I came out of the water I had several missed calls from the office. I didn´t call back immediately since I really needed a break and had no intention to get myself involved in some business in the meantime. 

Thanks to that decision I got into serious trouble. 

This wasn´t the only situation that contributed to a remote-controlled life at that point of time. 

I was constantly and unconsciously driving away from anything that really mattered to me.
I didn´t have any time for my family and friends anymore. I didn´t surf anymore. I didn´t sleep and eat anymore. 

From today´s point of view experiences like these put a smile on my face. Sometimes you have to learn what you don´t want in order to know what you really want. 

In my new life there is 'Marly first'. I don´t devote myself to anything and anybody any longer. It´s me who decides on the WHAT, the WHEN and the WHERE.

Source: TheDailyQuotes.com

I hope you enjoyed this little trip to the present time :)

Marly - 

Sort:  

Great post.. and I totally agree! While you have to have dreams, the here and now is the time to live. The past is behind us and can't be changed, and the future is uncertain... sometimes you have to make decisions that are hard and will change your life. I quit my job as a plant scientist almost 4 years ago... while this wasn't easy in the beginning and some months were hard... I now have my own company and am location independent and free from the corporate world!

Oh wow, congratulations on this great move! The beginning of somethings usually isn't the easiest part. But then - when things fall magically into place - life turns out to be smoother. I am glad you followed the right path and can enjoy your here and now as well :)

...while we are looking ahead we should recognize that life is neither what happend in the past nor what´s going to occur in the future.
This right here is literally the holy grail of everything! The present, the moment, the now. Go get it @surfermarly, you're an inspiration :)

Thank you so much! To inspire others is surely the maximum I could ask for.

Your very welcome. Have a most excellent day! :)

I resonate on this frequency. :) Thanks for sharing.

Well said :)
It's been my pleasure. Thanks for stopping by!

Another truly great post! I absolutely believe that everything is a choice and we decide, it's a great thing to take personal responsibility as well as control of our lives. I know mine is much healthier and happier for it!
I'm going to be doing a milestone post shortly, I like to include pictures with links for people, would you mind if I chose a few of yours to put in? Definitely one of these would be great along with this article :)

Thank you so much for your great support, @dreemit! You are absolutely right. Having control and assuming responsibility leads to a more balanced life in the end. Yes it´s not always easy to chose the supposedly right way. But as long as we try to opt for the one that puts a smile on our faces, we can´t be completely wrong :)
Of course, you can take all the pictures you need. It would be a great honor to be part of your milestone announcement!
Steem on :)

Just dropping by to say "Hi." ;)

Been too busy lately... :O

😄😇😄

@creatr

That´s too cute. Thank you my friend!
Hope you are doing great :)

Just trying to work my way up from "good" to "great," thanks for the good wishes, dear! ;)

In the meanwhile, thankful for the "new Steemit order" that allows me to up vote your posts as much as a week after you post them! ;)

I totally enjoyed your story, of self awareness and reclaiming your personal power. Good on you girlfriend, for being mindful, perceptive and wise.

Oh wow, thank you for such a great compliment! I feel really honored you translated the article into these great attributes :)
I´ve just found your post about the LBRY, then followed the link to the related website, FB, Twitter. You have a new follower on these channels now :) Honestly that´s a quite interesting project! Is it especially thought for video content (thus like a decentralized alternative to YouTube)?

You are most welcome@surfermarly. Great content deserves recognition.
Your story shows how you found out what it took to get what you really wanted. Although each individual's story varies, it can translate to anyone. To me this is the indicator of real leadership.
Thanks for the follows. I,(being intuitive) only use Steemit and also now LBRY as it comes alive. I am new to social media but I know many, many people from my years being a musician.
A decentralized alternative to YouTube will be huge! Steemit,the blockchain and those who develop this idea will prosper in amazing and as yet unknown and unrealized ways. An concept worth planting the seed. Steem on.

Again thanks for your kind words.
Both steemit and LBRY are definitely following the right path, I fully agree with you.
Steem on!

Gratitude for the many little things that happen everyday... that's part of (at least for me) what makes life awesome... and to experience them, you have to be present. Great post!

Exactly. It´s about being aware and knowing to value and to be grateful for small gifts.
Thank you, @denmarkguy!

Any post that paraphrases a Kenny Chesney song gets my upvote! Well done.

Ha, that was an accidental coincidence, but a really nice one actually :) Thank you!!!

Totally agree with you, being available all the time stops us from embracing the present! Thank you for your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66361.53
ETH 3253.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.43