Don’t Grow Up! It’s A Trap

in #happiness7 years ago (edited)

Today’s morning I accidentally ran into this picture on Instagram. I couldn’t stop looking at it. What an incredibly beautiful moment and what a great message!   

Immediately, I started laughing but then paused; realizing that behind that cheeky shout out lies a tragic truth.    

It’s a trap - and we’ve all gloriously stepped into it!

"No crezcas es una trampa" (Spanish: Don't grow up, it's a trap). Found on Instagram.

It’s A Trap  

One of the most characteristic differences between adults and kids is their view on the world.   

With age comes seriousness. It comes through responsibility. Suddenly you have to deal with problems that you didn’t have to face when you were younger. That has an impact on your attitude.   

Look into the eyes of kids and you look into their heart.

There is no pre-judgement, no doubt, no envy and no lies. There is just the purest and richest form of humanity that one may imagine. There is empathy, kindness, confidence, belief, good will, open-mindedness and SO MUCH LOVE.

Give me back some of that carefreeness of youth!
Let me be impressed by a butterfly, let me dance in the rain, laugh out loud from the bottom of my heart and eat mountains of sweets without regrets.
  

Source: pinterest.com

Let me be unprejudiced again!

Let me step into that world again and see it for the first time.

When growing older we tend to build a wall around us that impedes anybody to look inside. We care about ourselves and our own outcome (mainly in an economical sense), but don’t look next to us anymore.    

The world we’re living in converts us into busy, working, delivering, functional beings. The more time passes by, the more indifferent we become.    

But like everything in life our attitude and our perspective is a CHOICE.

Nobody can impede me to dance in the rain.    

It’s about not losing that naive view on the world that was given to us with the very first ray of daylight and the very first breath.    

It’s still there. It’s inside all of us. We just need to wake it up again.  

Thanks for your attention - and don't forget to get dirty today :-)

Marly - 

Sort:  

What a great message!! I love coming to your page, it is always filled with such positivity, you are a light bringer my friend :)
I may just have a friend of mine make a t-shirt out of that :)

Thanks my dear friend :-)) What a nice compliment!!! I'm happy to spread a bit of my energy here, hehe
Oh yeah please I will have one of these shirts then!!

As humans grow older build more and more limitations due to the fact we owe to obey some rules. This results to limited creativity and a narrow mind.

True story, @kyriacos. Unless you are an artist like @silviabeneforti mentioned previously :)
Thanks for leaving your thoughts!

Great Post, I just realize that I have Grown Up a Little bit in the last year, Now I am much more serious about my life, my career. But remembering what I was a few years ago, I smiled remembering those memories. thanks for posting it. @surfermarly

Thank you, @looftee and you are more than welcome! I guess we all wake up from time to time and realize that we've become very serious. Being surrounded by children helps to do one step back :)

That's Why I love Children.

Oh I love them for uncountable things :)

It is unfortunate that so many children are taught hate instead of love, prejudice instead of curiosity, fear instead of wonder. Children are some of the strongest beings in our world and yet we must remember that their minds are fragile and easily manipulated.
@surfermarly I am so glad to have found your post! I will strive to keep my childhood in mind. "First star to the left and then on until morning, that's where you'll find Never Never Land"

That's great.

We need not follow the mindset of the world :)
It might have molded our views and lifestyle..but it is indeed a choice to get out of it, once we have seen it is not for us.

So true @immarojas! The only thing we need to do is being consious :)
Have a great day!

The world smells better after the rain :)
Enjoy the rest of your week.

Wise words :) You, too!!

Well said.

thank you. Enjoy the rest of your day :)

Actually, It is night here, But thankyou and you Too.

Enjoy the rest of your evening then :)
and the rest of the week. Cheers!

Cheers to you too.

😍 No crezcas es una trampa! Look into my eyes :)

Hahaha, you've got the perfect answer to everything :D

sólo para ti mi amor :D
hehe.... ois foischa Südländer kommst dir halt gleich viel besser vor - des haut vü mehr eini :-)

Ich kann nimmer!!! @sichadutrottel hat diesen Kommentar upgevoted - LOL!!!

Really good post and message! I try to be young, even if it kills me.
Seriously, I believe you are correct. Enjoy life with a young heart and the grin of a child.

"Feet on the ground and head in the sky" is my way of living :)
Thanks for your kind words, @paradise-found. Your name is my story!

Have you noticed, our logo photo's are similar!

Sure!!!!! These are the most beautiful colors of all. Pure holiday feeling!! :-))

Absolutely right!! Thanks, you just put a huge smile on my face!!

I was thinking about this earlier: That a child is like watching Buddha. They are born as enlightents beings, and then build walls as you wrote. Walls also build inside our heads, but that are merely illusions. I was feeling quite anxious the other day and I said to myself: What would a child do/think of this situation. I felt better immediately. Thanks for sharing!

Sometimes we need to step out of the problem in order to see that it's much smaller than we actually believed...:-)
Have a great weekend!

Great advice Marly, I always enjoy your point of view because it is so much like my own. My post today has a similar idea, finding joy, having the freedom to dress in a way that makes you feel young and courageous.

Oh that means a lot hearing it from you :-) Thanks for the nice compliment! I'll have a look at your article right now! Enjoy your weekend!!!

Indeed a trap, but one of the most beautiful traps we can experience...

Definitely! :-) Have a great day, Eric.

It certainly reminds me my childhood, in a flash. We all grow up with vulnerabilities in every aspect of our life. But, glancing back to our pristine self in our childhood makes us realize- what have we gotten into? Great article.

....and great comment! Thank you :-))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 56554.08
ETH 2343.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41