You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: You're Missing The Steemit Point!

in #happiness7 years ago

I hearty agree. Life is no rehearsal. I value life and it's natural treasures a lot more in the last 3 years purely by getting into bushcraft/self-reliance. When I started out prepping it was all a blurred panic as I thought I needed stuff right now. WATER, WATER, WATER, FOOD, FOOD, FOOD. Supplies after supplies because that's all I could do at the time. Taking a step back, learning and exploring the old skool mentality made me realise that all this material 'wealth' that I had gathered had little value at all. I've now got a good understanding of procuring potable water, foraging knowledge, traditional fire starting method, etc. and I feel much more at ease with myself because of it.

Sort:  

Yep, it's amazing what happens when you invest in building your own system and learning vs putting time & effort into achieving material goals. Have you read Scott Adams' work on this? I think you'd dig it. There's one book in particular called something like "How to lose at almost everything and still win big" that really elaborates on this point.

Cheers :) Not heard of Scott Adams tho.

Dude, you're going to LOVE that book. Enjoy! (He's the guy who wrote the Dilbert comic series.)

Ahh. that fella :)
I will search it out, thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66750.09
ETH 3474.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80