What Makes You Happy? Part II, Contributed by @Olawalium

in #happiness6 years ago

adult-beautiful-face-774866.jpg


Earlier, we talked about happiness and what constitutes happiness. I made a request for us to grab a pen and diary and make a list of the things that makes us happy.

I am going to make my own lists now, and they are in no particular order.

What Makes Me Happy?

1. Giving.


adult-asia-boys-933622.jpg


Nothing makes me happier than giving. It is my favourite activity and it comes with a sense of fulfillment. Have you ever given to someone in need and you saw the way that person felt afterward? How does that make you feel? Whether the person requested it, or your mind told you to, the joy expressed by that person undoubtedly gives you a sense of fulfillment. It gets you pumped up and willing to do more. Whether we receive or we give, it makes us happy. Of course, I love receiving too. Hahaha. Who doesn't?

2. Writing.


depth-of-field-desk-hands-210661.jpg


I love writing. Whenever I want to write anything, all I needed to do is grab a pen and a paper, or go to the “Memo” or “Notes” on my phone. Even without prior knowledge of what to write, the messages start flowing. It is one of the many things I enjoy doing with ease. Most people ask me how I do it, I really can’t explain it myself. I just love it. I enjoy the thrill of putting my thoughts into words and sharing it with others. I am a firm believer that we can all learn from each other, no matter how little the message seems.

3. Sports.


depth-of-field-desk-hands-210661.jpg


Hahaha, this is another one. Not all sports get me excited and happ, but running, playing football, watching football, playing football games makes me happy. I just started developing an interest in American football; rugby, cricket, and golf. I still don’t know how they count their scores, but I still get excited when I get to see then on tv.

4. Helping.


pexels-photo-461049.jpg


I decided to differentiate this from giving. It’s just a personal choice anyway, and it doesn’t apply to everyone. I focused the giving on reaching out with material things, and like I said, it is very open to debate. Others can say that giving advice is also giving, and they are absolutely right.

Helping others make me happy. I like it when people come to me to ask for advice, ask for my views on something, or try to tell me something about them which not everyone knows. I always see it as a privilege, and it takes a huge amount of trust for them to do that. It’s a massive honour. Helping people, in whatever capacity makes me happy, even when I am feeling down. Seeing I made another person happy, despite me not feeling the same, automatically lightens up my mood.

5. Material things.


pexels-photo-259027.jpg


I don’t want the list to get too long, so I put this under one umbrella. Having money makes me happy. Knowing I can go out, see something I like, and not just desire it alone. Having the ability to get it right then and there makes me happy.

Either clothes, shoes, wristwatches, food, fruits, whatever it is. You know when you dress good and look good, there is this confidence that comes with how you carry yourself. I am not talking about proud look, I am talking about exuding confidence and it radiating through your face. Driving around in a cool car gives your excitement, not to brag, no, but knowing it makes moving around easier surely helps too.

Of course upvotes make me happy too. Hahaha. Who doesn’t like them? I have even dreamed of a day I will wake up to see my post yield $100. I would surely scream in excitement, and oh boy, I would be happy. Of course, it would be written all over my face. Hahaha. How little things can get us excited and also make us happy.

What we choose to focus on that makes us happy is dependent on how we view things. It’s totally left to each individual​ too. If they have temporary or long-term​ happiness, it's a result of the things they chose. We cannot deny the fact that we all desire happiness, whether clusters of temporary ones or long term. What we focus on and desire, determines how happy we are or could be.


adult-background-beard-941693.jpg


Thank you for your time.


My pen doesn’t bleed, it speaks, with speed and ease.

Still me,

Olawalium; (Love’s chemical content, in human form). **Take a dose today: doctor’s order.


If you enjoyed this post, follow @Olawalium

Sort:  

Here is my own list too...

  1. Rendering of Service : I enjoy doing this for both old and young. I can go to any length to make others comfortable, I don't mind the cost, once my heart says I should, I just burst into action.

  2. Giving : I used to be very happy when I see someone happy because of my action. It might not be something big, but it will definitely meet a need.

  3. Caring: I love putting myself in other people's shoe. I can go any length to show that I care. It one of those things that makes me feel important

  4. Teaching : this is one of those things I can do for free. I love it most when people are coming back to say thank you for the knowledge impacted in them. I do it as if my whole life depend on it.

  5. Farming : wow! Staying with livestock mean so much to me. No wonder I don't feel the pressure of been a farmer. Lol

Let me stop here, it's a comment and not post.... Smile

Thanks @olawalium

Hahahaha. Nice one. Doing what makes us happy repeatedly simplifies our life. We should always do it so we can have a happy life. Well done.

Like this popular says, "make your work your hubby and you will never work again"
Lol

Thanks @olawalium and @communitycoin , I'm always longing to read from you. You are never short of qualities.

Thanks a lot bro.

Happiness is the pleasant emotions that brings joy. There are different people existing in the world and each with their own source of happiness. For me, teaching is my first source of happiness. Knowing that I have impacted in a life who has the potential of improving the world.
This is my major source, it drives my will to preaching, teaching in the formal educational system and instructing on the football field, that’s like coaching. So I find myself doing all three of this which gives me happiness.
I feel fulfilled whenever I do these things. This is my height for happiness.
Find what makes you happy and involve with it....

Yesss!. Find what makes you happy. I really love this. I am so happy teaching makes you happy. I know that feeling. I once taught in a secondary school and took practically all the senior classes. The quest for knowledge of these children is so high. Being able to teach and help people is massive.
Thank you so much for this. Duly appreciated.

I loved it the moment I read it. Nice on fam.

Thanks a lot. Your support means a lot to me.

I’m gonna make the list as requested.

• Making music
• Creating Melody
• Charity
• Achievement
• Success
• Impacting knowledge
• Family and Friends
• Party
• Singing
• Highness
Thanks

Perfect!. Short and precise. Thanks brother. Ofcourse i know you live for music. Find what makes you happy and just do it. Thanks bro

Thanks so much Bro. You’ve been awesome all the way. Bless your heart

Amen and yours too. Really appreciate you bro.

Amazing post dear. Seeing all these qualities embedded in one man, I see you deserve nothing but happiness. Please keep doing everything that makes you happy, I mean everything and u'll see lines falling unto you in several pleasant places. Nice one @olawalium @communitycoin

Thank you so much dear. Really appreciate your comment. We should always endeavour to do what makes us happy. We should channel those energy from within to make it reflect outwards too.

Right now, what' makes me happy is the price of steem being stable and actually going up. I think it might be at least double before this year ends.

Yaaaay!. That got me really excited too. I look forward to more of that.

Giving is a very wonderful thing when you see the smile on the face of the people
I love the poor. I really love to give them something that makes me very happy
You are a wonderful and wonderful person

Thank you so much for this. I am glad you can relate to the part where you see the smile on the face of the people. That moment is always special and indescribable.
Thank you for your kind words, means a lot.

Giving is one of the things that everyone should be doing. Because not only to be make someone to be happy, also is the source of blessings for all God's creatures. When we give out, we will definitely receive.

My fellow steemians please learn how to give.

I am glad to know giving also makes you happy and I like your perspective to it as well.

Abi o brother, giver never lack nah.... Happy weekend

Happy weekend too brother.

I agree with most except material things. I feel happiness is a state of being, not something to be achieved. Material things don't really hamper the state of mind, depending on the person. Nice post as always

You missed the last statement I made. For some, material things make them happy, and I made a point where I said that we decide whether we desire long term happiness or short term by the choices we make and by the things that influences our happiness. Each individual is different. Another question is if what makes them happy is long term, short term or vain.

Happiness is from within and sometimes what we see from without do influence what we feel inside and that is the essence of sight.

Thanks a lot, I always appreciate your comment.

I Also agree with most except material things. I feel happiness is a state of being, not something to be achieved. Material things don't really hamper the state of mind, depending on the person.

Thanks for most valuable article share with us.

Happiness is made to be shared, it appears when what you think, what you say and what you do are in harmony, it is inside you, not next to someone, it is not out there for us to find it, and the reason for that it is that it is inside us.

Happiness is not doing what you want, but wanting what you do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66099.02
ETH 3560.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.16