You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Grow Grass and Buy Food? #168

in #happierpeople7 years ago

The answer is pretty simple. Lawns cost people money and keep them dependent on others. Gardens do the opposite. We are programmed from an early age to be dependent. Most people never break out of that programming.

@grow-pro is here on Steemit working hard to reverse that programming. If anyone is looking for a quality person to follow that will freely teach them what they need to know, he's you guy! We should all be growing our own food.

The economy has already fallen off the cliff. We are just waiting to strike the ground. You had better be prepared for when that happens too. Don't depend on outside systems to feed yourself, keep yourself warm, or protect yourself.

Sort:  

Self-sufficiency is a great feeling and one that I wish to help more people to experience. Growing food on your own is a rewarding endeavor and one that teaches us constantly. It's a skill that grows with what we grow. If just 1/4 of the people out there with large lots of grass could transform that space into edible food - would we have as many starving people in this world? I don't think so and I'll explain why.

Take for example how I've grown thousands of pounds of food on less than 1/15th of an acre. This is about 5% of my "lawn". I still cut grass for 4 hours yesterday and would spend more per week than I spend on our family of 4 at the grocery store, to have the grass cut by a professional. I cut my own hair to save money, so you can safely assume I prefer to care for my property.

Just growing food in a few thousand square feet, I'm able to feed my family, my neighbors, friends, and hundreds of happy locals. We are talking about just a fraction of an acre. Imagine what a few acres here and there would do to impact the community you live in. Imagine how many people might have healthy, fresh food because a useless crop (grass) was transformed into a garden. Would that reduce hunger? Absolutely, it would. Imagine that on a grand scale...

I want to share my experience and knowledge with anyone with open ears. Thanks to @finnian for inviting me to this wonderful platform and for the kind words! He's right, I will freely share all that I know.. I love it and I thrive on sharing my knowledge. To see the progress that has been made from my attempt to change the "programming", now accompanied by many more people spreading the message - I cannot wait to see the shift that will come in the future. It will happen.

If you're unsure how you can begin gardening on your property, have no space (or so you think), or feel you lack the knowledge and resources - Let's chat. I would be happy to help anyone that desires to learn and grow. Nothing is impossible and there's always a way. I started a series just for Steemit and I am working toward showing more people that they can not only grow their own food, but they can profit greatly from doing so. Not everyone wants to make their own food, so that leaves a ​great opportunity for those who do.

We are talking about skills that can save you money and possibly save lives. Growing food requires a skill that not everyone possesses, but that's simply a choice that we all make. If you are interested and have no idea where to start - please ask!!

I really appreciate this message @jerrybanfield and I truly believe it will generate a lasting change if more people understood that they have the power! 🔥🚀

Yea man doomsday is coming.

I wouldn't call it that. I'd call it the "Greater Depression." ;-)

Followed, but please stop yelling at me! haha (All caps) What can you tell me about oatmeal?!

Oatmeal is very good. All caps does not have to mean yelling. It can mean a title. In my header here on STEEMIT, I use caps to make the text easier to read. I do not like the kind of fonts used in my header and it is hard to read in lower caps.

I'm just pointing out that most people online consider walls of capital letters yelling. You're going to turn people off with a profile blurb in all caps. Good luck!

Those people can go back to reading What Happened by Hillary Clinton.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 57030.30
ETH 2858.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62