You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Grow Grass and Buy Food? #168

in #happierpeople7 years ago

Your article was resteemed, so I got it in my feed. I read it with much interest because I like your idea. It's difficult to do what you would want to do, so I suggest you start small, with fruit trees, (raspberries are also very easy) and some summer foods, like tomatoes, lettuce and beans and especially all kinds of herbs. There must be a place in your garden where you can plant these, even when the house is rented.

Remember most fruits and vegetables are ripe at the same time, so don't grow too much otherwise you have to give it away, which is good, or use a freezer (not for lettuce etc.) but a freezer needs electricity, which is not good for the environment.

So try vegetables like leek, red beets, garlic. You can store them in a cool and dark place or leave them in the earth until you want to eat them. They are easy and don't take too much time.

I have a little vegetable garden in my garden in France (Burgundy). During the winter I live in an apartment in Rotterdam, so no garden there. But I like to work in my garden, grow some vegetables etc. The joy is to go out in the evening, pick a crop of lettuce and prepare it. It tastes so good!! With some of my own tomatoes and garlic

The best advice I can give you is: Start small, try different vegetables and fruit trees and enjoy eating your own food.

I upvoted you and will follow you from now on, to see how things develop. Good luck!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60180.31
ETH 3001.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64