How to turn your old magazine into a great gift! ( Tutorial )

in #handmade8 years ago

Crafting with things you otherwise might have turned away. I want to show you how you can turn some of your old paper into a nice gift for friends and family. Christmas is coming soon and nothing speaks more to the heart than a handmade gift! 

For this project your will need: Old magazines, (cut every page in half! ) scissors, glue, a dessert cup and a whole lot of time! Making this is not a quick task and there might be a few moments where you ask yourself why you are doing it again. But trust me at the end you will be rather proud of your creation!

Fold the paper and glue them one by one until you have a whole bunch of them. Try to make them as equal as you can for a better outcome. 

You can use normal glue for this or a hot glue gun. I used normal glue but it might work faster if you use the glue gun. Normal glue takes a tad longer to dry.
Start by rolling up the first one and keep adding more until you have a good solid bottom of your dessert cup.
Now you start to add more and more paper rolls and you push them a little bit down to follow the shape of the dessert cup you are using. 

ONE TIP! Keep turning your work while adding more paper rolls. If you don't you might end up with your work glued to the dessert cup!

When you think it's big enough you just stop adding paper and let it dry!

This is the small one I made! This size is perfect but I wanted to go a tad bigger as well. 

This is the bigger one I made and I am now using it full with candy on my table. 


These little things really make great gifts for your friends and family. Fill them with Christmas candy and wrap them in a nice way! 


Thank you for watching and reading my post!
Replies are very welcome and much appreciated!
Feel free to push the follow button so your will never miss any of my posts! 

Happy creating!
@poeticsnake

Sort:  

Nice idea! My great-grandmother used to make beads from old magazine pages and then string them and create beaded curtains. My mother said it was fun and relaxing to do. Thanks for sharing this.

Yes, I have seen some articles about making beads from it! it looked amazing to do so maybe I will try that as well one day!

very imaginative, and would look great made out of wrapping paper to.

I think you can do it with all kinds of paper as long as they are strong enough. Wrapping paper in one golden or silver color would be amazing as well I think.

It's like quilling but at a larger scale. Creative!

Yes, you are right! And I must say even though it took quit some time to make it, it was really fund doing it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61870.12
ETH 2401.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53