[DIY] Handmade Vanilla Lavender Sugar Scrub

in #handmade7 years ago

619A7403.jpg

619A7407.jpg

What to do if you have a pound of lavender sitting around?

A while back I ordered some lavender online and it just happened to be a great deal if you buy a whole pound of it (454 g). At the time I didn't think how big of a bag it would be and when I opened the package I was overwhelmed, now I am too lavender rich so I thought why not put it to a good use? And by that I mean making some fragrant scrubs to give out to friends and/or family members. I think those make an excellent gift!

I have researched several recipes online and I think it gave me a good idea how to make my very own sugar scrub. Keep in mind I've never made those myself before so it was a pretty exciting experience.

Shall we start ;)

Items to acquire:

  • a handful of dry lavender buds;
  • 15 drops lavender essential oil;
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil;
  • 1 cup sugar;
  • 1 t.spoon vanilla extract;
  • glass jar with a tight lid.

619A7373.jpg

Instructions:

In a bowl combine sugar and coconut oil and stir thoroughly, mix in lavender oil, vanilla extract and lavender buds.
Transfer into a clean air tight jar. I used two 8 oz mason jars for the amount of scrub that I prepared.

619A7385.jpg

Use the scrub on your hands or other areas of your body, it is going to leave your skin feel soft and fragrant. Be careful not to rub it in too hard, the sugar can slightly scratch sensitive skin types.
Store in a closed container for up to 2 months.

619A7408.jpg


Sort:  

о я такое люблю) домашняя косметика крутая! я делала кофейный - класс тоже)

Здорово! Обожаю кофе, возможно, в следуйщий раз попробую сделать! Сначала раздарю эти два, послушаю отзывы хахаха

They look and sound exquisite! :)

A little bit, thanks :D

Very nice and very unique recip...Its new for me but hope it will be a good addition...

nazirkhyber_01.JPG

Yeah this one is for your body!

When will this be available for STEEM!? :D

It is available upon request :D and NO free shipping!!!

can you buy in bulk? :D

Um, I could do it haha, maybe reduce the price some too hahaha

Mmmmmm I'm imagining how luxurious this feels! I love sugar scrubs... in fact that's the only time I ever use sugar! I'm bookmarking this post so I can make some for my pregnant sister... pregnant ladies need lotsa luxuries in my opinion!

Ah, yes, very true, they do :) thank you!

It was fun making it, I actually haven't made any scrubs before, but I think I will try something different next time, I got too many essential oils, gotta put them to use haha

As always, such lovely photos! I LOVE lavender and like to add it to home-made scrubs and home-made soaps and such too! You did such a great job with this :-)

Thank you very kindly!

I guess I am rediscovering lavender, for a long time I wouldn't use it for anything, but now that I have so much of it, gotta put it to work :D

Wonderful post and photos! I love to DIY my own body products but I've not made any scrubs yet. I'll be trying out your recipe for sure!

Sweet, thanks!

It was my first scrub as well, a couple weeks ago, a friend of mine brought over a scrub she made herself, and I was like hm, that's interesting and decided to give this whole scrub thing a try :)

You have a knack for making a masterpiece out of everything you do😊😁I can only imagine how this sugar scrub smells✨

You should make it and not imagine the them scents! You might like it. I think that vanilla and lavender suit each other just perfect, vanilla almost gives it a warm feel haha

Thank you!

Thank you for a wonderful recipe of a scrub, I saved it, follow you)

Awesome, thanks :D

Awesome. I have the exact same recipe, although I need to add lavender, lol.

Yeah, I would assume they are all the same recipes ;)

Really though haha take something out, put something in, it hardly changes anything haha only makes it your own.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61236.82
ETH 2672.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.61