#ULOG # 11:The Art of Doing it Yourself

in #handicrafts6 years ago (edited)

1527319281754.jpg

Hello my dear Steemians! I would like to share the art or doing it yourself (DIY) stuffs instead of buying them. Of course, there’s nothing wrong with shopping guys. I love shopping myself and I gather ideas from what I see and learn from it.

One of my favorite locations is the native product stores which are the favorite shopping place among tourists for souvenirs. Native handicrafts are indeed unique and raw in nature.

1527295090054.jpg

Say, when my Antonia’s birthday was approaching, she would think of some fairy tale characters she would impersonate. This time, she wanted to be the little ‘Moana’ so lola lulu (me) looked over her box and dig on to find the needed accessories for Moana’s necklace. Then her mom bought a headband and a stick of flowers.

1527297499033.jpg

That’s her mom’s long Spanish skirt, her tops and wrap from my vintage collection hahaha ...

1527299493260.jpg

In my case, I get ideas from those native handicrafts and make innovations from any available materials that I have and start from there. And speaking of junks, yes, I have a bunch of it at the back and more balikbayan boxes piled. They’re stuffs of this and that you know which I statched away in the box with the promise that one day I’ll make use of them. It was a very busy day for me when kids had their United Nations’ costume competition. I always love dressing them up with those fancy dresses.

Actually, I have lots of ‘unfinished business’ in there. That is the reason why I don’t want to leave my work half done because once I place them in one corner, I know we’ll meet again in years hehehe.

1527300904018.jpg

Remember about those trending cross stitch craze before? I only had one accomplished. It’s “The Cottage” but Adonis, The Wedding and the oldest of them all … ‘Lady of the Thread’ are still there waiting for my good mood but I surely will when time permits. It’s time consuming and I’ve only worked on them during my vacant time in the office because when am home, time seems so short.

1527302222918.jpg

I made use of every scrap from my bag making. I made stuffed toys out of the inner linings of leather jackets and bought additional materials in Cebu for the eyes, ribbons and foams. I made money and every stuff that I did was my masterpiece.

I used to tell my kids that you can still make money from scraps and I would show them how I made a cute wallet out of a six-inch cloth and sold it for P30 and for the scrap of scraps, I showed them that I could still make classy pot holders with embroidered strawberry, apple or carrots.

I taught them not to be ashamed to sell our products because it’s not everyday that you can find a peso coin on the street. They would carry the pot holders with their mid-fingers and sell it in the neighborhood and food stalls for P10-15 each with 50-50% sharing. Well, the buyers were our family friends so they gladly bought their offers saying they’re very proud of my kids. Their dad was a second mate officer and working overseas yet they were not spoiled brats.

My kids learned the art of crafts too. Daughter would buy stuffs for earrings and necklace at the central market in Bacolod and sell it to their boardmates and classmates together with my tote bags, slings and pouch. See, we had income generating talents!

1527306112697.jpg

My son was a fan of spiderman so he did his own sketch of him using his sign pen only with no erasures! He wove a spider-web like “Dream Catcher” out of an old metal drum ring and abaca string.

1527306374635.jpg

He loved carving too. Here, you can see tiki ashtrays out of old bamboo roots.

He was fun of doing outdoor activities like mountain trekking. He once passed by a sleek waterfalls and saw a bonsai plant clinging over a cliff and carefully got it despite the risk.

He proudly showed his ‘pasalubong’ to me. I was very glad of course. Its sturdy structure clearly showed that it has been there for years and clinging for its life.
Sad to say, it did not survived in the lowland. My son vowed never to take one again whenever he guided trekkers to Mt. Canlaon.

1526743596023.jpg

In memory of this plant, I placed it on my table, turned it upside down and decorated the roots with synthetic flowers. The other one with a tail-like structure was turned to a lamp holder using a light bulb.

1527316421335.jpg

Antonia also loved to see me sewing so she also made dresses for her Lalaloopsy doll. She also made her own pouch and little backpack.

Well, her aunt from Saudi gave her a petite sewing machine via Lazada as a birthday gift. Now, she can sew simple designs and aimed to make beautiful designs when she grow up she said.

1527317615975.jpg

Still a kid as she is, she hates their daily diary task in school so I did a bargain with her. The deal was that she write her diary while I sew dresses for her doll Cherry, her Lalaloopsy doll.

1527317899957.jpg

At last, they went to school together in uniform!

Thank you for reading guys! Have a nice day ahead and God bless us all.

received_1930020537017192.gif

Sort:  

Please start your ULOG title with #ulog.

Follow the #ulogs guidelines below in order to get upvoted/curated:

ulogsimportant.PNG

HAPPY ULOGGING!

Thank you @ulogs . I'll take note on that

These crafts are amazing @sarimanok.
Really really nice! I guess it should also be in the @steemgigs service! Thanks for sharing this amazing talent that we could always put in use to do a living or just even augment a bit for the family expenses. God bless!

Indeed it is. It is also one way of expressing your talent in handicrafts. Thanks dear@fycee!

Very nice #ulog! Thanks for sharing your talent and crafts.

Quite interesting stuff

Amazing craft done by your. Keep on posting.

You got a 1.88% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @mers!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Thank you, thank you @mers, @otom,@promotor and to all who upvoted my blog. God bless!

Wow! Family of crafters! Alala ko yang lamp bulb project Ng mga lalaki sa arts n crafts, need gaan Ang kamay para di mabasag Ang bulb...

Thanks @jurich60. Yep, mababaw lang kaligayahan namin. Masarap mag-imbento eh.

Hey @sarimanok! you seem like a steemit power user. Any chance you'd like to try our new cross platform mobile app? We've added things missing from steemit like push notifications, user mentions, and chatting with other users. We’re also giving away free STEEM if you invite new users to the app. You can download the app here for iOS:

https://itunes.apple.com/us/app/vapor-a-steem-app/id1359525246

or here for Android:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.vapor

We're always looking ways to improve the app, so if you have any feedback we'd love to hear it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63195.68
ETH 2615.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74