Rag Style Denim Quilt Meets Frontier Skirt

in #handcrafted7 years ago (edited)

When a new customer told me she wanted my patchwork frontier style skirt but in denim, I was both hesitant and excited. I had a picture in my head but would it work and would it be what she wanted?

DSCN3195.JPG

I have been making denim quilts for years using recycled jeans. Here are a couple photos of my earlier ones. Notice I make it a point to use the as many interesting parts of the jeans as I am able.

quilt for sale2.jpg

This is when I started incorporating flannel pieces with the denim:

guest quilt.jpg

Then came the rag style denim quilts - so much fun!

rag quilt 3c.jpg

So as you can imagine, it was a blast being able to take my two favorite things to make, the rag style quilt and the frontier skirt, and make something new.

I did have to hunt down some light weight denim fabric by the yard and do a bit of re-engineering so it would not be too heavy, but I think this one will work. I do hope she likes it!

Thank you for dropping in!

Contact
Email: [email protected]
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/RainCountryHomestead/
Hand Crafted Goods: https://www.facebook.com/heidiscrochetedart/

RainCountry1.JPG

Sort:  

I gave you my strongest (start of the day) upvote...still just $0.01 😧😝
Because I like your style and handmade things!
Keep up the good work!!

That's a pretty cool design for a skirt! I like the way you have the pockets laid out on the different rows of the quilting for the skirt.
I had thought about making tote bags or purses from old denem jeans that I have saved, but I have too many other projects to deal with.

I made myself two purses that way and switch off every 6 months so I can wash one and use the other - plus, they are different colors so I get a bit of a change up too :D Here is a photo of one of them: purse4.jpg

That's pretty cool!
Are the pockets usable?

I love you feed, happy day @raincountry

Beautiful work! Always enjoy seeing your process from start to finish. @raincountry

If I could I would order just about everything you make😁 They are all so beautiful Heidi! Love and prayers❤

Awesome....my wife needs to make some of these for herself!
Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77