Hammocking, part 1

in #hammock7 years ago

So yesterday was Canadian Thanksturkey 2017, our family of 3 joined the inlaws in Squamish BC Canada for some eats. 20171008_154718.jpg

I snuck out as soon as I could and put up my newish hammock. The OneTigris hammock with bug net. I put it up along with the tarp and underquilt I also purchased from the same company, what a treat! I had almost 31 minutes of privacy hanging out in nature until my son found me and reported me to the rest of the group. 20171005_111327.jpg
The gear packed, hammock and underquilt.
20171008_181914.jpg
The hammock and built in bug net.
20171008_182006.jpg
The poorly focused shot of the hammock and the underquilt installed.
20171008_183114.jpg
Tarp installed. total install time from start to finish, maybe 5 minutes, 4 of those minutes were focusing on fiddling with the finer points.
20171008_184821.jpg
After supper I asked pops in law to show the boy how to make fire, not that he doesn't know but it makes pops in law feel good that he is teaching the next gen how to do real world stuff.
I didn't take a picture of supper, on purpose, it was prime rib roast with all the fixings, to enjoy it properly you would have had to have been there, hence no pictures.
Overall I LOVE the OneTigris hammock and acoutrements, I bought and paid full price for the gear but I do give them props. Good budget friendly and seemingly durable, see you in a year or two for the long term review. 20171008_210742.jpg
For those that like numbers: Hammock 2 $37.99 US (includes 2 tree straps and carabiners), Camping Tarp 4 $58.99 US (includes some ropes and ground stakes), Underquilt 1 $55.99 (includes mini carabiners). Best spacing is about 5 solid steps from tree to tree (or mounting point to mounting point). The packed items take up enough room for a medium school style pack and don't weigh much.
If its just the tarp and hammock with optional heavy duty hang straps it fills the main compartment of a haversack, the one shown is from my buddy Malcolm at the Hidden Woodsmen, he hand makes his stuff, its really nice and sturdy, check it out if you are in the market for a man purse, most of his materials are super water repellent and fire retardant. 20170922_141450.jpg

Sort:  

The highway shot looks familiar LOL.

I like my OT stuff but some of the staff behaviour I have told you about is WEIRD.

Not all of it but some -- but the gear is good so far and I have a lot of it as you know.

I would get rid of the tarp and squamish tags, and put in nature and photography, trust me on this.

You cannot edit your first tag........ keep that in mind too, so it is the most important one.

Trending / key tags are super important here for views and votes.

Thank you for the heads up but I can't figure out how to edit the blog post.... #doh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58951.49
ETH 2505.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48