You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Working Ham Radio Satellites with a hand held Radio

in #ham7 years ago

I have done some satellite com with the SO50 SaudiSat. I used a cheap Baofeng and a hand held dual band yagi. I got some help finding the bird from a GPS based app. The Satellite AR app is the Google Sky for satellites, and works well tracking the orbit. I know some operators put a lot of effort into sat, but I took a minimalist approach and made a contact.

It is interesting how you adjust for Doppler by increasing the frequency as the bird approaches and decreasing the frequency as it descends. I know there are other satellites but the SO50 is the only one I have heard.

I mostly operate HF phone, and sometimes digital modes. Nice post! --73

Sort:  

Hi thought I responded must not have hit post lol ... Ya I love good old 20m band the best ...... just getting an HF rig setup on the boat ....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63608.16
ETH 2621.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77