STEEMIT GIRL HALO ♡ Christmas Fire

in #halo8 years ago

Today I woke up ready to have a great Christmas, every thing was going great , and in a split second every thing changed.

Why you ask

I was cooking and a pan of oil caught on fire, I panicked and put it under running water. BAD IDEA, the fire exploded and became very large.
It burnt my hand and I dropped the pan of hot grease and fire on my dog Taz catching him on fire. My husband burnt his arm and hand putting the fire out on Taz.

I have never dealt with a grease fire and did not know water would make it worse. In order to put out a oil or grease fire in a pan on the stove you have to cut the oxygen off to the fire. You can put another pan over it or use flour, whatever you do , DO NOT USE WATER.

As bad as the picture looks Taz was not hurt , his thick repellent coat kept the hot oil from burning his skin and the dark black in the photo was just burnt fur, my husband got the fire out before it got to Taz's skin.

We thank god that it was not worse, it could have been Taz's face but it was his rear, the house did not catch on fire, and my husband and I only have minor burns.

I hope that I have taught someone today how to deal with a grease or oil fire. This could have been much worse if my husband did not have the knowledge of how to deal with it.

Merry Christmas

Sort:  

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Dec 26. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $11.01 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Dec 26 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

What an awful experience. I hope you injuries are not too severe. If it ever happens again just place a lid on the pan to smother the fire 🔥 and turn off the heat source. Burn are serious make sure you get medical attention.

Holy smokes sorry to hear things didn't turn out well for your Christmas day and yes very lucky that things weren't as bad and that little Taz is ok phew, Also I think its a persons natural reaction as we are always taught to combat fire with water, thanks for the very important lesson halo hope it doesn't spoil the rest of your Christmas.

Glad to hear that everyone is ok!!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68221.63
ETH 3277.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66