You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm a Halloween Grinch

in #halloween6 years ago (edited)

I'm trying to trace back when things like Halloween and Christmas stopped bothering me like this, cause I used to hate all holidays. I think it's when I found a tribe in 3D that, like me, paid no attention to holidays or what mainstream was doing with everyone having their one or two guilty pleasures (NBA or Bojack Horseman for a few of them, youtube bs for me). The mainstream culture feels much less unbearable now that I know I have somewhere to go to escape it and still feel engaged with people. I don't live in the same city as them but they still manage to give me peace of mind.

This year Halloween passed and I was at home all day and didn't even realized it had happened. It helps that I'm somewhere that doesn't trick or treat, but I could have just as easy put on some headphones and ignored it, or go into anthropology mode and go people watching (unless I'm America cause some nutso mommies would probably accuse me of eye-ing their children)

Sort:  

OH my god, that happened to my Dad taking photos of my nephew at a soccer match - he was reprimanded for being a pervy old man, lol, the family has never forgotten it.

I think that's what I'm babbling about today - that ability to find a gap and get away from the unbearable aspect of culture that closes in on me - knowing you have an escape helps.

Ahhhhhh, it's international!? The "everyone is a pedophile pervert" illness? Urgh. That's what I like about Asia, I meet a mother and child and I can poke the kids cheeks and belly and no one gets sick thoughts in their mind cause it's natural to want to play with kids (PLAY, not THAT) cause that's what they're masters of, play.

I hope you can find refuge from the crazy normies!

Yeah it's crazy. Like what has happened to the world!! Poor Dad.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58418.48
ETH 2515.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36