HALLOWEEN In Taipei! | I Moved To Taiwan: Part 2! | Check Out My Gory Costume!

in #halloween7 years ago

Est. 2012 (1).jpg

HALLOWEEEEEEEEEN IN TAIPEI!!!


So I've been living in Taiwan for a little over a month now and it's the Halloween weekend!

The holiday lands on a Tuesday this year which I personally love because it means we have more days to feel spoOoOoky! (The Friday, Saturday and Sunday before the actual 31st!)

Anyone who knows me knows that I take this fright-fest very seriously and these past few years I've made a big effort!

Here's what I went for last year! (Can't attach videos in Steemit posts?? :( )

http://becometheatlas.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/10/received_1350567681621941.mp4

But actually, This year I realised that Halloween is a difficult event to take part in if you're travelling the world and living out of a backpack...

Usually at home you have a bunch of old left over Halloweeny shit from previous years, as well as miscellaneous items that go completely unnoticed throughout the year but somehow become utterly indispensable come October 31st.

I found this out when I needed cotton balls and a makeup sponge. I'm not saying these items are hard to come by, just that I'm pretty sure they would have been laying around my house back in England.

Then there's the task of hunting down pints of fake blood, body paints, costumes and whatever else you need in a foreign city!

ANYWAY.

Those reasons (poor excuses) mentioned above, combined with my laziness and last minute decision to commit to Halloween, lead to me going for the same gory attire as last year.

Boring? I know.
Still looks awesome? I know!

The majority of this look is formed with liquid latex. PRO TIP: DO NOT PUT THIS ON FACIAL HAIR.ha! I found out the hard way when I came home at 6am and spent over an hour in AGONY trying to peel latex covered tissue paper out of my beard. Ouch!

My pals and I started at a bar called Mikellas, had some Craft Beer/Pale Ale bevvies then moved on to a bar close to Taipei 101 called In House! The place was bursting with people in amazing costumes but the real Halloween party was happening out on the streets in between the clubs, bars and restaurants!

I can't believe the effort that some people made. Also, this was my first Halloween in Asia. It's interesting to see the differences in costume choices.

Of course there was the typical ones that you see worldwide: Slutty Bunnies, Army Men, Witches, men in dresses, etc.

But there's much less zombies, blood covered murderers and dead people that you would expect in a western country!

Instead, there was a huge amount of Anime, cartoon and game characters, superheroes, mascots, Geishas, Pokemon and hundreds of other PG costumes.

Everyone wanted photos with each other and it was super easy to meet people!

So, to summarise this quick post:

  • Halloween in slightly trickier when you're backpacking but you learn to make the most of very little!
  • No matter what language you speak, if you dress up you can talk to anyone! (Even if it's just "Hey I like your 'stume!")
  • Latex is a bitch to remove.
  • The real party is on the streets! Don't spend $1000NT on entry to a club when everyone just ends up outside
Where are you for Halloween this year?

What's your costume?

Let me know in the comment section! ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓ ↓

Tag me in your pictures on Instagram with @ Travel_Gasm . I would love to see your efforts!

 

HAPPY HALLOWEEN!

Love, Joe x
Sort:  

to attach a video. upload it on youtube and paste the link here

oh wow, that make up :D , are you in the halloween makeup competition , I saw it somewhere here on steemit.. make sure you participate.. hehe and how exciting that you are in taiwan, I look forward to your photos of taiwan. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61035.98
ETH 2886.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67