Homemade Costume Time: Link from Legend of Zelda

in #halloween6 years ago

My kiddo knew what he wanted to be this year: his favorite video game protagonist, Link.

We could have bought a costume, but where's the fun in that? So my mom sewed and I hot glued/painted our creation.

KIMG0423.jpg

From feet up:

Over his shoes are boot covers made from faux leather, hot glue, and elastic. Leggings were bought and left as is.

The tunic was originally a 3x polo shirt with the collar removed (collar repurposed to be the hat band for his elf cap) and worn over a white T-shirt. The belts are made from the same faux leather as the boot covers and secured with Velcro.

I bought the shield and painted the background a metallic blue (it was originally black) to make it pop. Sealed it with a clear gloss coat.

KIMG0426.jpg

Every adventurer needs a fairy in a bottle, right?

KIMG0425.jpg

The bottle I bought at the store, wrapped a bit with artificial sinue. I made a dangly "fairy" that hangs from the cork, and popped a glow stick in the bottle to provide the supernatural glow.

The hat was made from a small polo shirt in the same color as the tunic.

I bought the wig on Amazon for cheap; included the hat and ears, too.

All in all, it cost $30 total for the costume we cobbled together, and me boyo is ready to go on a candy- collection side quest!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94