You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why I'm a Halloween Grinch

in #halloween6 years ago

I'm glad I saw this, @riverflows, even if it is the day after.

I guess you can put me down as a Halloween Grinch, too. I don't really remember what it was like growing up, to tell you the truth, but I know as a parent, it was the holiday I least looked forward to. Get the kids out into the neighborhood or down to the mall to get their candy haul for the year, then get home and hand out candy (not the kids') to those who showed up. Bah humbug!

One year, I think we managed to garner the trick or treat speed record. Malls are good for that. You just go and scout ahead to where the next business is handing out candy and you point the kids in the direction they should go. :)

The commercial aspect of it doesn't grab me as much as it does during Christmas because unless you're really into it, or someone in the family is, you can generally reuse a costume for a few years (when the kids aren't in growth spurts), and candy can be bought relatively cheap.

However, just the idea of giving away candy for no other purpose than kids show up at the door? And that it's associated with all kinds of monsters and what not that we all hope never exist? Definitely strange to me.

However, I know I'm in the minority, so I generally just lay low, let people have their fun, and move on, even if it doesn't sound like I do. :)

Sort:  

I definitely don't mind people having fun even though it's not my thing. I think it's just the rabid commercial nature of it that upsets me, as well as the environmental impact

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63361.04
ETH 2483.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67