Home made costume

in #halloween7 years ago

We watched quite a few Halloween special's this year and Luke was really into it. Our favorite is "It's the great pumpkin Charlie Brown ". Every one has seen this one and is aware that the gang all make their own ghost costumes out of a sheet.
Well when we asked Luke what he wanted to be this year his answer was "a ghost". We also like watching Casper and Ghostbusters so I thought he wanted a scary ghost costume. So I took him out shopping and showed him a large selection of different options. Luke looking unimpressed turned to me and said "not that kind of ghost. The kind you make with a blanket and cut holes in."
Off to Dollarama we went and found a great round table cloth. Total cost $1.25. He was super stoked with how it turned out. I painted his face black so the eyes looked like black holes. He wore a white hooded sweatshirt underneath (since it is cold in Canada). We baby pinned his costume to the hood so that the eyes stayed in the right place.
It was mom's turn to take him trick or treating so she threw on a white coverall and Lukes toy Ghostbusters backpack and they were the perfect pair.
image
They went around the neighborhood and collecteda huge stash of candy. Then when he was home he wanted to hand out the candy to the other kids. Trust me when I say he was very generous with his portions.
image
I love that you don't need expensive things to make your kids happy.
Hope you all had a great Halloween as well!

Sort:  

That's awesome!

For a couple of years we also made ours, from cardboards 😀

My husband had the same costume as your wife, but he went as Walter White, complete with the blue meth 😂

It is nice when you can make your own costumes and accessories with much cheaper expense .

We did have a great Halloween as well this year.
Thanks for sharing!

That was the highlight of all our Halloweens with my sons. Making our own costumes. They were very creative, fun to make and inexpensive.

I was excited when he wanted to make his own. It is a great chance to learn some skills and create some memories. I have made many of my own costumes in the past. One year I didnt have a costume and made a superhero completely out of plastic grocery / garbage/ shopping bags. I cut out the giant tiger logo as the emblem on my chest lol.

That's awesome my son was a ghost too, but we bought a cheap custom. They certainly didn't get as much candy as yours they didn't last too long outside.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63438.65
ETH 2632.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75