The Butterfly Queen - Monarch Butterfly Wings Costume Tutorial

in #halloween7 years ago (edited)

Since it's Halloween today, I will post another one of my costume tutorials.
This one is for a gigantic set of Monarch Butterfly wings that I made for the Lifeball, a ball to raise money for AIDS research in Vienna, Austria.


(Photos by Paul Allan Ballard)

  • The Idea

  • Wire hangers and duct tape (after trying several different types of wire I discovered that wire clothes hangers were the strongest).

  • Putting it all together with duct tape.

  • Then hot glue a sheer fabric on both sides and trace and fill in the outlines of your desired wing patterns.

  • Fill in the white dots.

  • Add fiery colors...almost done. Now we just need glitter and sparkly details.

  • Add sparkly details.

They sparkle when the light hits!

  • Then hot glue and/or sew shoulder straps to wear them and Voila! They are finished.

Some more pictures of the wings in action at the Life Ball in Vienna. It was lovely how they sparkled and shone like stained glass under the spotlights.


(Photo by Christian Ha)

Happy Halloween!!!

Sort:  

Wow, I absolutely love that costume! Great work on making those wings! I'm impressed. I'm a butterfly enthusiast, so I need these for myself!
:)

Awww thank you. Yes, if you are a butterfly enthusiast definitely! Maybe even some smaller ones just to hang up at home.

Splendid outfit! Elegant and refined lady! ;)

Wowwwww!! That is an amazing and creative homemade costume! You look gorgeous! Well done 😍

Woh! Gorgeous mermaid turned into a Monarch fairy queen! the work you put into it is simply incredible, thank you for sharing @corinnaharden!

Calling @originalworks :)
img credz: pixabay.com
Nice, you got a 2.0% @minnowbooster upgoat, thanks to @reinhard-schmid
Want a boost? Minnowbooster's got your back!

This is such a beautiful post, I've been looking at it several times. The past few days, I've been building a 3x3m wooden gate and have simply been too exhausted to do much around here on steemit.. sometimes even moving the mouse gets to much ;-)

Love those wings, can't believe you made those yourself. My favorite picture is the one, where you are sitting on the floor painting them. Looks like you had plenty of opportunity to wear them too :-)

Many thanks for the resteems!

Thank you so much for the kind message. I hope you are feeling better after the exhaustion.
The butterfly wings have been used on numerous occasions. Here I wore them to surprise Ernst Fuchs at his last birthday party. https://www.facebook.com/media/set/?set=a.10152026381436137.1073741866.523761136&type=1&l=7ded0933a0
Thanks again :)

Thank you for the minnow booster!!! <3

Congratulations @corinnaherden! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the total payout received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

How #artistic can you be?! Wow and geez, this is a TRUE labor of love & work of #art !

I GLANCED AT YR PROFILE :
The fact you're a historian and an artist = 2 things I have in COMMON w/ you, as I enjoy history & art, and #ART History too ♦♦

Loved the pics -- you sure have a LOT... and I Like the color orange at #Halloween.
The PIC of you w/ the guys is, well, quite Handsome.

Kudos.

Thanks so much. Very kind of you! I threw in the picture of the two guys to entertain myself...hahahaha

My first thought when you were painting was "It must be really tough to get that screen to hold paint." But the results are quite impressive.

Like the concept and execution. Upvoted!

Thanks :) when reading about making wings most tutorials suggest using pantyhose. I couldn't find any that big so I just used this sheer synthetic fabric and painted with acrylics...it worked.

Wow,its very nice this photos

Is it possible to be friends in facebook

Sorry, no. After looking at your page, I'm certainly not your type of woman. Have a nice day.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58127.19
ETH 2452.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36