I let two of my kiddos cut my hair!

in #haircut6 years ago (edited)

If heads are to be considered canvasses for art, then my head is great for beginning artists.

Genetics was not on my side in the hair category. Even if you had never seen me, you would know that I am bald by looking at my dad and grandpa's shiny heads. Bald is beautiful! (Well, maybe not, but at least my wife thinks so.)

IMG_0693.JPG

Haircut Day


I don't do hairstyles, and I try to avoid barber shops/hair salons. And it is ridiculous for me to pay 15 bucks for a haircut, especially since I need a haircut about every 3 weeks. Our $20 hair trimmer from Walmart has been paid back many times.

So my wife is letting me know that it is time to embrace the bald (I agree that I look better when my hair is short). So I asked two of my kiddos if they wanted to help me.

My 3.5-year-old was super excited even though she had no clue what was going on. My second oldest was a bit timider in her response, but she has steady hands - the hands of an artist.

Prep Time


So I get things ready ...

I find an extension cord, plug in the hair trimmer, and then step into the bathtub (the go-to location for my haircuts). And then I explain what is about to happen. I talk about how to be safe, how to be gentle, and how to do a good job.

And then I let the girls help. Again our youngest was super excited. She was ready, willing, and wanting more. Kiddo #2 finally worked through her reservations and took the first steps to become a great "hair" artist.

Of course, I needed to do some touch ups, and as always I have my wife come in and check things out. She always finds a few spots that need even more TLC. Now I look good, feel a little bit better about myself, and was able to give our family a new memory.

Lessons I Am Learning

A haircut does not seem like a life-changing event, but I want to make sure I make every moment count and enjoy the little things in life with my family.

Here are things that I have been reflecting about:

  1. I need to invite others along as I do life. There are teachable moments everywhere.
  2. I need to let my kiddos take risks so that they can learn while I am there to support them. I don't want my children to be paralyzed when they face challenges in life.
  3. I need to embrace the idea that you are never too old (or young) to learn something new.
  4. I need to intentionally pursue memory-making. Memories can be free in the moment and priceless in the future.
  5. I need to treasure that which is most valuable. My family is very important to me, and I need to prove that to them by giving them my time.

Final Thoughts

I want to hear from you. Let's continue the conversation in the comment section.

  • Do you intentionally take advantage of every moment?
  • Or do you tend to pass over learning opportunities?
  • What is your favorite family memory? What makes that memory so special to you?
  • Would you allow your kiddos to cut your hair?

Thanks for stopping by. See you soon!

@SumatraNate


Image Source: This is a photo of me, taken by me on my iPhone.

Sort:  

Cutting hair is one of the most tedious things in the world! Every 3-4 weeks you have to be aware of a new cut, the price of the cut, which is someone who knows, between several obstacles.

  1. Yes, without a doubt (in a large part) above all the things that fill me with spirit and happiness.

  2. It depends, a learning opportunity should never be overlooked as there are times when those opportunities are not repeated. Then they do not return.

  3. One of my favorite memories are those meetings where the whole family enjoyed any kind of games: Bingo, Twister, all laughing and enjoying the loud music and food.

  4. I do not have children yet.

Maybe there is some artistic skill in your children and you still do not know it!

I want to encourage my kiddos to explore their gifts and skills. We love to spend time as a family and try new things together. I appreciate your comment. Thanks for stopping by.

Lookin' sharp, buddy!

I'm working on the post about you for the resteem bounty right now. Should be done in an hour or two. Have a great day!

I know you keep your word. I wasn't worried about it, but I do appreciate the update.

Thank you for such a sweet post about your family and sharing memories. I really do love this post!
Ivy

I am so glad you enjoyed it. I appreciate your help and suggestions.

anak-anak anda sangat kreatif, dan anda memberi mereka ruamh untuk berkreativitas, semoga keluarga anda selalu diberkahi

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by sumatranate from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63968.82
ETH 2633.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.84