Why is there suddenly an increase in African-American women with natural hair?

in #hair4 years ago (edited)

I think that the whole natural hair movement has boomed so recently because black women have been held to white beauty standards and have been oppressed for so long. Finally the bandwagon has been going strong and women are letting go and embracing the natural gifts that they were given. It has been coming on now slowly but surely for a long time, since the Civil Rights Movement. With the internet so prominent now, problems are solved at the touch of a button and personal advice flows freely.

1.jpg
https://hairstyle-en.com/jet-black-hair-color-amazing-ideas-hairstyles-pictures/

I myself jumped on said bandwagon about 8 years ago. I used to want straight hair so I would look prettier like the girls in my school, since I live in a predominantly white area (Georgia). I felt pressured by all the girls around me with straight, flowing hair. So I dyed my hair monthly and straightened my hair several times a week. My natural hair (if I ever wore it so) was short, dry, fried from the heat damage, and full of split ends:

2.jpg
https://hairstyle-en.com/unprofessional-hairstyles-you-need-to-pay-attention/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63540.43
ETH 2481.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66