You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mizu No Oto - Every Image Has Its Haiku - Edition #29 (English)

in #haikucontest5 years ago (edited)

So beautiful world,
That even the beasts behold.
They have a soul too!

https://steemit.com/haikucontest/@darthgexe/mizu-no-oto-29-every-image-has-its-haiku

Sort:  

Is a dog a beast?
Such congenial companions
More like us than not

It's a beautiful haiku, but I don't see dogs as beasts :)

I did not intend to use the term beast in a derogatory manner if that seems to be the case, I apologize.

Certainly, the word can be something subjective, in my haiku I mean not only dogs, but I wanted to extend to all animals in general, so I use the word beast as a synonym for an animal.

Dogs, although domesticated and trained, are still animals, they are loyal and very noble creatures, but they do not have the same degree of awareness as humans.

I still respect your vision and understand it, and I apologize if my poem seemed a little denigrating to our four-legged companions.

I like the word "beast" in this case. I also was trying to catch the primal nature of the dog, doing what a dog does, not at all negative.
And that the dog "beholds", a word that has spiritual meaning for me, helps me to feel the power of the scene. There is a lot of depth in your simple words @darthgexe. very nice.

I like your defense. And I agree, the word "beholds" elevates not only the dog, but the haiku. It is a lovely, thoughtful haiku.

I didn't mean to criticize...this is poetry and my reaction was emotional, not intellectual. I'm a softy when it comes to dogs.

Don't worry, it's okay, buddy. I understand.

To add a little spice to the dispute (in a good-natured and amused sense) I could say that I personally do not believe in the existence of a soul distinct from the body... :P

(Marco)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 57531.86
ETH 3051.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.29