[Set the Shore on Fire] Haiku and Wednesday Walk with @tatoodjay

in #haiku5 years ago (edited)

[Set the Shore on Fire]

orange poppy
bloom by the seaside
set the shore on fire

IMG_7032.jpg

Greetings, Steemians. Welcome to my #wednesdaywalk. First we look down. California poppies were blooming along False Creek on our walk to Science World. So vibrant in color from afar and even more so up close.

Now we look up but scroll down. Do not adjust your screen. The building is bent on purpose. Vancouver has been experiencing a condo boom for decades now and this wowzer of architecture piece is embodying the sonic wave. I say these building anomalies add character and distinction to the skyline. There are enough rectangular Babel boxes already in these parts ... you know towers to heaven where no one talks to each other. Big fan of the blue and green glass. We are often a grey city and reflection serves to multiply the light from the sky.

Generally not a fan when they add more fanciful or opaque shades but this metallic earth tone is fine by me. A copper sky was inserted among the blue. Things were getting misty and alas the camera did not pick it up, but the tree's new growth was tinged with cupric and the effect was sublime. Was striving for the near and far contrast talked about by @old-guy-photos in his last post. It might serve to crop out the sky. What do you think?



One of my favorite urban vistas in Vancouver is the western approach to Science World. I love the mathematics of it. The towers speak of the linear and the famous globe and its polygonal shell, the exponential. I think there is code here, staring me in the face but I can't put my finger on it. That would blur the photo. (Just seeing if you are paying attention.) Whatever the case, a #wednedaywalk not only limbers the limbs but can also expand the mind. Look up, look down, and discover the patterns to the universe.

Confession time, I had to fight the desire to airbrush out the lamp post. But not the lamp itself. Can you see why? I'm telling you. The Gods of Fake News are strong. Follow the prime directive and live long and prosper, Steemians.

All photos are my own. A shout out to @tatoodjay for hosting #wednesdaywalk. Follow him, if you are not already.

Sort:  

Oh, you really know how to make a girl smile!! Starting out with poppies and haiku and migrating towards the mathematical/architectural view. Oh, with insane topples to the building.

I scrolled slowly, so as not to shake it.

Oh, that would have been so cool to have airbrushed that out. I would have gotten a laugh out of that. You are so totally insane like that. I love it. And the best part... you wouldn't have blinked an eyelash. LOL

Taking it home.

Upped and Steemed

!tip

Thanks so much, Denise:) I think telling people what I was thinking was almost as effective. It let them think the joke themselves. LIke a puzzle. LOL. Who needs sudoku​ in the morning we have steemit:)

It would have been funny if you did take out the lamp post, then there could be two of them and we could all wonder at the invasion of a whole fleet of flying saucers. Nice bright color on that poppy.

Thanks, Bashadow. I am silly sometimes like that:) I

Firstly thanks for this little tour of there a post starting with flowers and then showing some cool building designs is one i will love

LOL at the last shot that edit you thought about could have started all kinds of stories without a doubt :)Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks, Jay. Glad I gave you a chuckle:)

IT surely did :) and a chuckle a day or more is always good I think

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Wednesday Walk-Ing Into Spring Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Haha what a cool post. From babel boxes to flying saucers. It's got it all.

That Geodesic dome structure was developed by a guy called Buckminster fuller. Don't know why I am telling you that but what a great name he had? 😋
!tip

Those poppies are gorgeous.

I thought I was already following you?

Thanks so much, MM:) I did not know who designed those domes but I am glad you told me. The roof is alos a omnimax theater.

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @molometer!

@molometer wrote lately about: The Tropical Tree'S Of England Feel free to follow @molometer if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Wonderful post! That edit you proposed got me laughing a lot. I wonder what the lamppost would look like on a foggy night. Maybe with a little CG work and Gaussian blur you could really get some people wondering, LOL.

Oh yeah. I can see it. Cue the dry ice. On a somewhat related topic. Did you know that X-files was filmed​ in Vancouver?​ Some one call Mulder.

Nice one Pryde. Great pic's, like the one of the Alien craft, think they're just hangin around, waiting for the special offers entrance fee's to SW :)

LOL ... you may be right. Thanks, Ray:)

Hahaha! Now it is my turn to laugh at your post! Even with the lamp post I can see aliens arriving! Your photos are wonderful!

Thanks so much, Melinda. I love how much joy everyone is getting out the lamppost. The treasures are found in unexpected moments, aren't they:)

They are, light fixtures and typos have more in common than I ever realized!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62345.27
ETH 2427.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49