A Scented Reign, Haiku, Photography, and Wednesday Walk with @tatoodjay

in #haiku5 years ago

A Scented Reign

heavy boughs of mauve
lillacs at their pinnacle
a short, scented reign

IMG_7276.jpg

IMG_7329 (1).jpg

We are all at different places in spring across the Steem stratoverse. In Vancouver it's lilac season and time for the flower's supremely-scented purple reign.


No flower smells better if you ask me, and so get out there and take a sniff or three. Lilac time is fleeting. No more than a fortnight in most places and then it's another year's wait.

IMG_7314 (1).jpg

IMG_7320 (1).jpg

Vancouver has done well in making itself one of the most walkable cities in the world. Burrard Bridge, the oldest bridge in the city, has lovely wide paths for both pedestrians and bikers. The stroller can take in the stunning views without worry of being taken out by car or any other wheeled mode of transportation. We all got our lanes. Keep to your lane, mind you, or risk millenial outrage. There are no Starbucks on the bridge. Sugar and caffeine lows can set in and then heaven help the walking weaver or reverse direction biker.

IMG_7323 (1).jpg

My son and I traverse the bridge usually once a week on our way to the H.R. Macmillan Space Center and Observatory. Last week, I featured its gift shop for #marketfriday. @dswigle wished I had included a picture of its unique architecture and so here you go, Denise.

IMG_7471 (1).jpg

You might think you are looking at a building's answer to a flying saucer and a metal sculpture representation of the constellation of Cancer. But no. The unique saucer and cone shape mimics our local first nation's traditional hat and the crab is the guardian of the Bay. The building also houses the Museum of Vancouver and so it is very apropos.

Thank you for joining me on anothe #wednesdaywalk and big shout-out to its host @tatoodjay:)All photos are my own.

Sort:  

I think that it should be a law that all bedroom windows have a lilac bush planted right outside the window. ;-) That fragrance puts me right to sleep. My grandmother had them everywhere and they make me think of her.

I do believe you should be a legislator:) Great idea:) Thank you:)

I love it when a city has been designed with space for walkers I would love to walk that bridge and see the views

But that space center building is so cool, thanks for sharing it with us

Thanks for joining Wednesday Walk :)

Thanks, JJ:)

Most welcome 👍😎👍

Very interesting, and great photos too :)

Thanks, Ray:)

Lovely pictures, @prydefoltz! We are graced with lilacs right now too and I also plan to post a #WednesdayWalk lilac-filled list from today’s walk. I really must pay Vancouver a visit. What a beautiful city.

Thanks, Jayna:) Yes, I just returned from your fabulous share:)

Beautiful publication. Very attractive and tasty to read.

Thank you, Zeleira:)

Nice to see some of Vancouver city it's very beautiful and i really love that flying saucer building it must be beautiful inside with all it's museum stuff it would make a great marketfriday post to see what's inside if they allow you to take photos :)

Thank you Hangin. There is so much inside. I did one on the neon signs a few weeks back ...https://steemit.com/haiku/@prydefoltz/rebirth-of-a-noble-light-a-neon-market-friday-w-dswigle

WOW...That is amazing i figured it would have some pretty cool stuff inside :)

It is a pretty museum. They get new exhibits every so often. The Neon is a permanent installation.

That is a good thing you can pop in there now and then and get some new material to post :)

They have a pay what you can the last Thursday of the month. I have just done that:)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63843.45
ETH 2624.02
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76