[A Rising Sun Canopy}, the Views from the Café, Haiku and Market Friday w/ @dswigle

in #haiku5 years ago (edited)

[A Rising Sun Canopy]

japanese maple
a rising sun canopy
in late afternoon

IMG_7050.jpg

One of the highlights of going to the Vancouver Art Gallery (VAG) has you not even getting through its doors but up a side set of steps and into the Gallery Café. For decades it's been run by the same couple. They have recently decided to retire and so new owners will be taking over later this summer. I have to admit I was a bit over the menu. There is only so much quiche a person can eat. The desserts were heavenly but carbs don't do it for me these days.

It was well worth just sitting and enjoying perhaps the best outdoor patio in Vancouver. The food wasn't for me but they did have lovely imbibers, great music, and some of the best lookouts around. It was heavenly to sit with a glass of bubbles (some smuggled-in food more to my liking) and soak up the sun.


IMG_5264 (1).jpg

There are chanteuse-like starlings that nest nearby and they'd whistle along with the classical music and mellow jazz. I worry with the café closed for a few months. Who will feed them? They've gotten used to singing for their supper:) The stairs leading to the café will continue to be a favorite for brown-baggers and take-out lunch eaters, so they won't starve but the pickings will be leaner and no more gourmet desserts. I love to sit on these steps and regard the Wall Center, my favorite tower in Vancouver. I love its clean lines and simplicity. It speaks of civilization advancement but also tranquility. A totem of clear-steeming.


I won't leave you without one more look inside the VAG and at the Affinities, Canadian Artists and France Exhibit​. Pictured below is Shimmering Afternoon, Beaupré, Quebec by Farquhar McGillivray​ Knowles (1859-1932. A collection standout for its mood and brush mastery.

IMG_6996.jpg

All photos are my own. A shout out to the lovely and talented @dswigle for hosting #marketfriday.

Sort:  

The tree is glorious! The shining beacon of red shimmers and plays with the sun, truly in its element.

The here.
The now.
The beauty of it all.

I wanted you to describe the imbiber, the concoction that made you pass up the other. I could have spent hours on the steps, admiring the birds, the people, my son... what a way to proceed with the day. You make a trip to the Gallery most enticing! No worries, we are smugglers too.

Birds of a feather and all that.

Speaking of birds, they will fly away and take over another's territory, no worries, although someone, somewhere may be short on the list.

Shimmering Afternoon ties the whole day together and leaves me wanting more. A delightful time with you. Always.

Thank you for joining me in #MarketFriday! It was the most wonderful experience.

#MarketFriday loves you!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

What a truly beautiful comment. I enjoy the bubbly myself but they had all sorts of wine and even martinis. We attended a concert and the gallery yesterday and are informed that we and the starlings will have to wait until September for the re-open. Can't wait to see the changes:)

The tree!!

That sounds like a place i would love to hang out at. The Long Beach Museum of art here used to be free and they had a really nice little coffee shop- gift shop outside overlooking the ocean. They built a much larger new museum on the grounds and it's not free anymore and the old museum is now a busy upscale restaurant. It's all still a nice place but not the same. I'm wondering why i'm boring you with this long story. Writing is the worst thing i can do in terms of peace of mind or any sort of creativity. It just goes downhill like an avalanche. oOopS

The tree is amazing. I thought it was just me and the bubbles. The things you see when you look up. And yes, museums have gotten pretty expensive. They generally have a pay what you can night but then it's you and half the city trying to get a peak. Ironically, memberships are usually more reasonable and offer some cool perks. LIke today, the art gallery is offering a free concert to members.

You know what's really wild is that The Getty here is free. It's all the way across Los Angeles from me and the the drive from here to get there stops me from going. I've been there once and it's amazing. You park in an underground lot in the hillside and ride a tram to the museum. I spent most of the time just walking around outside the buildings. The architecture and views are nuts.

A lot of best museums are free or free part of the week. You should go and take some shots if you can:)

I need to convince them all to stay open 24 hours a day so i can go after the traffic calms down at about 9 or 10 pm and stay until about 2 am then drive home before the morning commuters. Yes, it's quite an ambitious plan! Lol. driving across the LA area can take 2 or more hours one way. It's pretty tough for me to handle it.

Well if Elon Musk gets his way, you can get there lickity split in hyper-tunnel.

I would love that!

Wow! that tree is beautiful. Great pic's Pryde and description of the place, sound's lovely :)

Thanks, Ray. They sure did lighten the place up:)

Love that tree such warm vibrant and fresh colors that would be my highlight of visiting there

Thank you, Jay:)

🎁 Hi @prydefoltz! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Slice Of Sunshine Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62907.73
ETH 2531.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62