Mt. Bonnell Haiku - Paisaje

in #haiku7 years ago (edited)

44470af5fbd1b7b2dbec5541135fb22b.jpgMt.Bonnell is the highest point of elevation in Austin, Tx. It is on the western most side of the city and is met by the Colorado river winding its way down. Here, tourists come to take pictures as I soak in the scenery for hours. Hence, I wrote this haiku;

Distant cameras
zooming. Adventurous speed
to those who are first.

There is a fence where you're not supposed to jump over, but a couple
 did, and they weren't caught in anything besides exquisite happiness.
I asked the man how he would describe the view in Spanish,
 to which it took him a while to find the words, but he repied,
 "Esta bonito paisaje" which he went on to describe was a word
 which depicted winding river with trees.
I wish I had a camera - but I found a nice drawing of Mt Bonnell 
here - https://www.walldevil.com/mount-bonnell-wallpaper-312234
Sort:  

Thanks for sharing with us the beauty of Mount Bonnell, maybe I will get a chance to visit the area one day. I also wanted to let you know that I curated your work a couple of days ago. You can see it here: https://steemit.com/poetry/@rensoul17/winter-s-poetic-messenger-day-4

I hope that you do! It is gorgeous to experience the vastness overlooking the river while juxtapose to the city of Austin.
Thank you for curating me!!! I love what you said about me haha I do need to keep poems going for longer sometimes :)
I wish everytime I was @lonestarpoet 'd I could see on my replies or somewhere - do you know if there's a way through steemdb.com ??

This is some beautiful post. Haiku+painting. Thank you for sharing!

Yeah I wish I could find the artist because I agree the painting is beautiful and I feel as if simply citing the source where I found it isn't enough !
But, this is the exact spot I was sitting while writing this poem and reading a book.
Thanks for your comment and feedback ! I'll keep on posting fresh haikus with pictures then

@lonestartpoet, thanks for giving me a glimpse of a place I have never seen before.

If the painting is a true reflection of the view, then you need to take your camera next time.

I'll go back soon and take a real picture for you all !
Any recommendations on a good but cheap camera? I'm simply using a Tablet...

I have a Canon EOS Rebel T4i (about 5 years old). It is a great camera and I highly recommend it, but it is not cheap.

A newer smart phone would take a decent photo. The problem with using a tablet is trying to stabilize the device. You might want to hold it with two hands and then brace your elbows on your upper stomach. And I always recommend taking horizontal photos for social media posts.

Okay thanks for the headsup - I'll look into maybe getting a used Canon EOS Rebel T4i
And also the advice on horizontal photos - makes sense but I hadn't thought of it. Yeah my tablet doesn't take good photos :\

What about the t2i ? There's a used one for sale near me.. I'm checking out the differences in reviews and obviously it's an older version less used for video. The reviews on the t2i and t4i are both great but I'm seeing that t2i is a great place to start.. I'm going to contact this fellow and see if he's still selling it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by lonestarpoet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I love haiku! I will make one in the coming days. You have a great capture and your haiku is straightforward. Thank you for visiting my post! From #qurator

That's exciting please do !!
I'm glad that you liked the haiku and thank you for the very specific feedback!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64261.31
ETH 2787.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66