You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Old Pond :: Haiku of Japan #100 // Contest inside

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

An Old pond
a frog plunges

reverberating sounds of water

Commentary: You mentioned Buddhism in your commentary. As a Buddhist, I couldn't help but respond. My mind drifted to the cycle of life, that's what this poem represents to me. At first, there is an old pond. Then a disturbance, but the pond remains after the plunge is taken.

Much like life, disturbances will come. However, in the center, there is calm. Eventually, the reverberation stops.

I'm reminded of a koan I was told by my fellow Sangha member.

A monk finds difficulty keeping his mind calm during meditation. He tells his teacher this. His response, "Don't worry, it will pass." After a length of time, he finds his mind is calm. Again, he informs his teacher. "Don't worry, it will pass."

I chuckled a bit at that. Life continues to cycle as always, I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66911.69
ETH 3521.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.19