You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Only Sound :: Haiku of Japan #53

in #haiku7 years ago

Oh, I have never seen camilla, let alone have the chance to hear its falling sound. However, I once read an essay named "the sound of falling flowers" from somewhere before, the author especially mentions that she is appalled by the falling camellia. As usual, the flowers fall down slowly, petal by petal. However, camellias fall hastily, I can imagine the sound of the whole and huge camellia flower falling!

Thank you for sharing such a beautiful camellia haiku so much. Your wonderful blogs make me to learn and fall in love with Japanese haiku.

Sort:  

They do indeed. The entire flower falls at once, which is what gives it enough weight to make a soft thud when it hits the ground. It reminded the old Japanese of the head from a beheaded samurai hitting the ground, a meaning that shows up in many haiku. haha so I can somewhat understand that author's horror at the flower.

I'm glad to hear you are enjoying these haiku posts. Thank you for reading :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58940.53
ETH 2638.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49