You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: An Early Spring :: Haiku of Japan #75

in #haiku7 years ago

The "problem" reminds me of Judaism. BTW, I wonder if it's truly a "lunar" calendar. A truly lunar calendar is the Muslim one, and the months rotate wildly around, as they have 13 months of 28 days.

The Jewish calendar is a mix of lunar and solar, and so the months follow the seasons.

Regarding what I said above, right now the Jewish calendar's "New Year" occurs between the end of August to the beginning of October, or lands in the fall. But it used to be when Passover was, a new year that marked Spring.

Sort:  

I think it is similar to Chinese new year. The traditional Chinese calendar is also the lunar calendar in which the new year is celebrated with the beginning of spring, so Chinese new year is called "Spring festival".
I love 2 older poems in the blog very much, too. I can feel them well. There's a Chinese poem sentence "江春入旧年" which is describing the same content as Basho's hokku(I doubt the difference between haiko and hokku).

@geekorner Yes, you're right. Both the old Japanese calendar and the old Chinese calendar are actually lunisolar calendars. They are the same as far as I'm aware. The Japanese borrowed it (as well as much else) from the Chinese long ago, only changing some things like the 二十四節気 (seasonal divisions) dates to better align with Japanese weather. I write lunar just out of convenience because I think most people probably have a basic idea of what that is, but would have no idea what a "lunisolar" calendar is.

@ginafraser I'm sorry, I sometimes throw around terms without defining them very well. I will write a separate article on that, but basically before Shiki (19th century) everyone was actually writing hokku and not haiku. Hokku was the first verse of a longer poem called renga. Shiki was a reformer and is the one who completely divided hokku from renga and renamed them to haiku. Often we use the two words interchangeably these days. Or actually sometimes in Japan they just use ku when referring to haiku/hokku to avoid any confusion.

It's interesting how most so-called "lunar calendars" are half-solar, to remain constant with the seasons.

Makes you wonder if the Muslim calendar is different because it originated in a culture that focused more on livestock than agriculture?

I am ignorant about muslim calendar. But I make sure Chinese calendar originated in the agricultural culture which is reflected in a lot of ancient Chinese poems.

Yes, which explains why it's half-solar.

A fully lunar calendar has 13 months of 28 days, and its holidays tend to be in a different Gregorian month, to quite some variation, every year, due to that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62668.27
ETH 3332.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46