You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ah Matsushima :: Haiku of Japan #68

in #haiku7 years ago

Missed opportunity to tell us clueless gaijins who Basho is, and maybe include a photo or two of Matsushima! I guess I'll go to google :P What did we get fingers for by evolution, if not to type on keyboards, eh, eh?

And yeah, this definitely isn't what I expected out of a haiku originating in Japan, but I guess formalistic haiku like this were bound to happen, so it's more me not thinking about it clearly.

Sort:  

Keep in mind, this was a satirical haiku as I mentioned. That is has since come to be accepted as one of Basho's haiku is somewhat ironic.

I post many haiku from Basho, among others, so including a mini-bio of the poet every time I feature them seems tedious, therefore at the moment I leave people to seek out any extra info themselves if they are curious.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59239.80
ETH 2662.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48