As it Gets Colder - Day 214 - Haiku - Waxing Poetic Over a Lovely Gift

in #haiku6 years ago (edited)

20181019_230642 - Mandala on Down Comforter.jpg

As it gets colder
I bring from its hiding place
our down comforter

When we first began our search for property in a locale enjoying four season weather, my intention was for us to move in spring or early summer, giving us the opportunity to acclimate to the colder weather gradually, knowing that it was going to be something of a shock to my own system, given my lifelong residence in the Sunbelt, including twenty-five years plus in the Tampa Bay area.

So naturally, instead, we closed on our house in mid-October, and made our final move in the first week of November. Acclimate schmacclimate. Yikes.

We quickly discovered that, despite the main house looking nice, after the quickie facelift given to it by the bank that had foreclosed on the previous owners, one thing that our home inspection had not uncovered was the almost complete lack of adequate insulation, meaning that after a few cold nights outside, the cold settled in inside the house as well.

While I'm fine with wearing sweatshirts and jeans inside the house, I'm not fine with being cold while I try to sleep, and found myself half-smothered by the array of heavy bedcovers that were necessary for me to maintain adequate warmth through the night, not to mention the press of small furry bodies, as my cats wedged me into complete immobility on the coldest of nights.

I was laughingly bemoaning this fact to my friend Lydia, safe and warm back in St. Petersburg, to which she replied; "No problem. I'll send you my down comforter."

Lydia had spent a number of years in the Frozen North, including several years in Erie, Pennsylvania, and she had long ago deserted the colder regions for Florida, determined never to return. And, having assured me that she would never need it again, she decided to send her down comforter to me as a belated housewarming present.

And what a housewarming it has proven to be. The last time I had slept under a down comforter was at my great-grandmother's home in New Mexico, when I was a kid, and I had forgotten how deceptively light down is to the touch.

And I was blown away by the duvet cover she included with the comforter, which is an old-world style two-sided button duvet, with vibrant and gorgeously colored mandalas on both sides, providing warmth both for body and soul.

I was reminded of this yet again when I dug it out last week, after our first cold snap, when I had unexpectedly awoken shivering because my feet were freezing.

The following night, snug under the down comforter, I was warm almost instantly, and slept the night through in comfort.

So thanks again, Lydia, for your friendship, for your kindness and thoughtfulness, and for the gift that keeps on giving, in the form of this lovely down comforter that continues to bring warmth and comfort even on the coldest of nights.

You definitely helped to make my transition to life in Tennessee less arduous and stressful than it might otherwise have been, which has been a boon to me in more ways than I can express.

Thank you. And please come to Steemit. We need more people like you here. ;-)

This post, and all those from now until the end of 2018, I am dedicating to the work of #tarc and #yah, aka @rhondak's nonprofit dog rescue and @sircork's charity @youarehope.

Half the liquid proceeds earned from my posts will be evenly split between the two organizations.

The photo above was taken by me a few minutes ago using the camera in my Samsung Galaxy Note 8 smartphone.

#haiku #tribegloballove #tarc #yah #ecotrain #thewritersblock #smg #ghsc #thirtydayhaikuchallenge #teamgood #steemsugars #teamgirlpowa #womenofsteemit #steemusa #qurator #steemitbasicincome #bethechange #chooselove #photography #neighbors #beauty #love #animals #dogs #rescue #adoption #spayandneuter #homesteading #permaculture #naturalhealing #dogrescue #dogsofsteemit #rabbits #animals #grace #poetry #philosophy #beablessing #naturalremedy #gratitude #abundance #give #family #peace #tranquility #giving #donating #philanthropy #naturalhealing #pets #cryptocurrency #travel #international #culture #tolerance #peacemaking #peacemaker #friendship, #warmth #downcomforter #healthgiving #restorative

@edxserverus_5 - TSU Banner.png

SubscriptionPackOwner.png

ecotrain.png

The Writers Block.gif

https://steemitimages.com/0x0/https://tinyurl.com/y93h9wt4

TribeGlobalLove Banner.png

IOW COLOR MAP.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

Oh, I love Lydia!
"No problem. I'll send you my down comforter."
Lydia had spent a number of years in the Frozen North...and she had long ago deserted the colder regions for Florida, determined never to return,
so she decided to send her down comforter to me as a belated housewarming present.
I gave my most beloved down comforter to our son, who left it behind when he transitioned from Chicago to New York. I only hope someone else is loving it as much as I did. *sigh

Yeah, doesn't it figure. ;-)

I gave a set of music cards that had belonged to my dad to my stepdaughter, figuring that as an accomplished singer, they would be a valuable resource for her.

Keep in mind that each card contained a song, complete with music and lyrics, and there were several hundred, if not a couple thousand*, in their own metal filing boxes.

*(Correction, thinking back on the number boxes, there were easily many thousands, and every box was full).

I don't recall the publisher, but there was a wide variety of music represented, from the 1920s forward, including pretty much all the standards and a wealth of lesser known tunes.

Serious music students would have paid dearly to have them. Hell, a decent music school would have probably paid dearly for them.

She left them outside, in a leaking van, to get completely trashed by the elements. Along with a couple of framed art pieces that she had borrowed from me to decorate their apartment. I wish I had them now.

Ah well, live and learn. I accidentally left one of my favorite etchings of a dragon in a move once, and hoped that the next tenants at least enjoyed it being there.

Everything for a reason.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97