You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Haiku of Japan 21 – 30 :: Collection #3

in #haiku7 years ago

Beautiful pictures, I especially liked the 1st and 3rd, but I think they are by the same artist?

I'm trying to work out: are the pictures more important, or the words, or, are they a composite, bringing each other to life and creating something different from each of them?

I'll go with the third.

I have watched a few B&W Japanese movies, with subtitles, and I love how minimalistic they are. One I still strongly recall, is a man who works as a warden in prison and he retires. He and his wife travel, using their van as their home. I felt the story was beautiful but could not really say, this scene grabbed me. It just flowed and had a life of its own., leaving me with a feeling that these simple people are precious

I have a feeling that visiting your posts is going to provide me with similar experiences.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great comment. Yep, the 1st and 3rd are both by Kawase Hasui. He made a number of prints with the moon as the focus. Good eye.

The haiku stand by themselves. Most of the poets would have written words only. Sometimes they may have included some sketches (Buson was famous for this) but most didn't. The prints are picked by me to try to match with the words or the feeling in the words as best as possible. So, yeah, more of a composite. Ideally the print helps illustrate something of what the poet was getting at.

What you felt in that movie is common in Japanese things. Seeped in Buddhist ideology, there is a feeling of the pathos to all things. And this influences all art in the country, which has a strong zen feeling. Simple, beautiful. Enjoy every moment because it will never come again—the transience of life. It all comes together to produce a unique aesthetic.

Glad you enjoyed the post. :) I post them everyday, so stay tuned for more.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60787.79
ETH 3242.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46