Hacking Without Technology (The Social Engineering Way)

in #hacking7 years ago

Greetings fellow Steemits (steemers? I dunno I'm new) and welcome to my first post. So today I'm going to teach you guys how to hack without technology. It's a technique called Social Engineering and today I'm going to tell you my experience in using it. Now Social Engineering is essentially obtaining sensitive information by exploiting humans. Examples are phishing, simply asking someone for a password (as I sort of did), pretending to be someone on the internet, generally lying, etc. Here's how I did it:

So the other day I was at my friends house and I was quite bored, so I decided to hack into my friend's Chromebook so that I could mess with him. However, I had no electronics to perform any of the attacks I would generally do. I did have some information about his password though. It started with 22000 (it was a school owned chromebook that we were allowed to rent and the password for it was our student id number, which began with our grad. year followed by 3 0's). That left me with 999 possible passwords to guess (there were 3 digits left). Instead of guessing all of them, I decided to ask my friend a seemingly harmless question, "Hey Tom, what's the 6th digit of your Chromebook password.". When he obviously asked why I wanted this information I merely replied that I was just curious. He said 1. Armed with this knowledge, the amount of possible passwords to guess went from a staggering 999 passwords to a measly 99 (which is almost nothing). I quickly typed in 22000101, 22000102, etc. Until I got the password! (I'm not going to reveal his password on the off chance you steal his chromebook!) I hope this helps you guys and happy hacking!

Sort:  

Fellow Steemians ^.^ Welcome to steem

Congratulations @ninja25538! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ninja25538! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @ninja25538! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61191.20
ETH 2972.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48