My Late friend Dennis Moran aka Coolio aka Sinned The Master Computer Hacker who hacked multiple military and corporate web servers in 2001 and who told me about bitcoin in 2009(Maybe he helped create it)

in #hacking7 years ago (edited)

I felt i should write an article about my hacker friend named sinned aka Dennis Moran who was the first person to show me Bitcoin back in 2009 and I remember he sent me a bitcoin back when it was under $1 and teling me to start mining and I should have really just quit school an listened to him but I was so busy with school an social life at Santa Cruz with all the drugs and psychedelics and weed and dubstep in 2008, but i DO have a memory of being in the "Green Monster" Victorian House in Santa Cruz, CA back in 2008 to 2009 and Dennis aka Sinned aka Coolio messaged me over IRC telling me to download this bitcoin program, and to start mining and how I should invest in just buying as much bitcoins as I could and remember this was back when there was only one bitcoin wallet program and these bitcoins were only worth less than a penny! I REMEMBER Them being worth under a penny and how he told me I needed 1000 of them to make $1 but that they would go up an up and up, he was so excited and totally involved obsessed with bitcoin and this was when I lived in this House for the school year of 2008 to 2009! So This WAS during the VERY beginning! I feel like I was part of history! .

I met Denis over the Shroomery or the Dextroverse IRC back in 2003, and Dennis invited me to an erowid like IRC chat with an amazing secret online community where we traded knowledge about psychedelics and traded information on programing Fractals Chaos theory thories of the Universe and everything but mostly lots of fractals! and Sinned also showed me my first encryption, sending me the documentation about CypherPunks OTR program (OffTheRecord) one of first encryption chats for the masses, remember the ORT plugin for AIM and remember those messaging programs like TRILLIAN? hah anyway i HOPE some of the same people from IRC come on steemit! Many of them are on a facebook group, as it was the only way we could all stay in touch when people stopped going to the IRC chat or when the server would not be online someone always had a server though!

And the chat might still be alive in some other form or name somewhere! It ended up gaining alot of people, it was like a really special cool place where about 40 core members would actually meet in real life, we even flew some members from one side of the world over to this one members house in north america and that was so cool! her dad kept coming in her room when we were all smoking weed an he had an Adobe T shirt on and worked for adobe and i could tell he was an old tech nerd who was so happy to see his daughter have all these real life friends from ALL over the world ALL because of the internet that he helped to create for her Its really a touching moment now that I think about, humans really did make something really cool and powerful for their own children by helping to build this amazing internet that we have! And were about to cure hunger then poverty, homelessness, then Depression! Anyway people from all over the world would meet in real life for that irc chat! Steemit reminds me alot of that!

One member M ended up being my real life friend because im from san diego (I was only at santa cruz 2005 to 2009 and he ended up being in San diego too in the chat so we hung out in real life so the chat room just became this real thing! Some users of the chat dream was to make money off something like bitcoin where they would never have to worry about money and I am pretty sure he is living the life off bitcoin now or maybe not who knows I am hoping some of these people read this and reform here on steemit! It would be a good fit!

Anyway Sinned was the one who invited me to the IRC chat when I was talking on the Shroomery and Dextroverse (Shroomery made famous by Ripper a kid who killed himself from an overdose live on a video webcam stream ) But yeah Sinned was a good guy though, he was a blackhat and whitehat hacker at times! he hacked for political reasons! he told me thathe adventure hacking the entire internet and shutting down every major website in 2001 was to show how he could stop something like 3 Billion DOllars worth of internet traffic and how he had a Botnet army waiting to take down the actual DNS servers an shut down EVERYTHING costing thee world hundreds of billions in the process, and he was ECSTATIC when talking about how HE just ONE PERSON from a laptop could destroy the entire internet costing the big multinational corporations hundreds of billions of dollars! He was a known computer criminal Denis Moran who had already served his time in jail or hack in 2001 and by the time i met him he had already been free for years. he is the one who hacked the whole internet in 2001

But he died of an overdose possible suicide in 2014 and he had thousands of bitcoins and was basically buying tons of drugs on darknet maybe? I think he was...had too much....he was depressed about the way the world being shitty and bitcoin used for greed, i can maybe find out his exact critiques if I ask people from the irc chat "#love", But all over the web and the old pre darkweb pre tor he was a big deal, he was hacker named "coolio" and I miss him and pray that he actually faked his own death.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dennis_Moran_(computer_criminal)

"Dennis M. Moran (1982–April 14, 2013), also known by his alias Coolio, was an American computer hacker from Wolfeboro, New Hampshire, who was accused in February 2000 of a series of denial-of-service attacks that shut down some of the most popular websites on the Internet. He was later arrested and pleaded guilty to defacing the websites of DARE and RSA Security, as well as unauthorized access of the U.S. Army and Air Force computer systems at four military bases."

oh yeah thats right he fuckiin hacked the DARE website he told me how Dares website was retardedly insecure and so were a ton of government and military websites

he had shut down ebay an amazon and tons of websites with a massive DDOS attack AND he was HOURS away from shutting down the ENTIRE internet by taking down the main DNS servers using his MASSIVE botnet army! he had the biggest botnet armies ever assembled back then!!!!!

I sometimes wonder if Sinned invented bitcoin

Seeing your name here @sinned really reminded me of my friend who i wish never died in 2013......he did get to see bitcoins rise to $1000 but he never got to see bitcoin rise to $2000 or $3000 and ts marketcap getting past $1 or 10 billion or where it is now! he would have been so wealthy too by now! he would have had millions an millions because he had like 10,000 bitcoins saved....when he died of course no one could get into one of the worlds top hackers computer to access his bitcoins...

He invited me to an IRC chat that I ended up being on for over a decade meeting many cool people that were inolved with early internet history, I am so happy I was invited to by the hacker coolio aka SInned or Dennis (Sinned backwards) And there was so many more cool people there! those IRC rooms were such a great resource! There are still many great IRC rooms out there

But i miss my friend sinned! he was so cool, an the fact that he went to jail for his hacking in 2001 and just worked on the jailhouse computer to make them more secure and efficient LOL they made him work on their computers as part of the punishment! LOL And he would just smuggle drugs in because he was only prisoner who could leave the jail for hsi special work!

anyway sinned had so many cool stories!

http://www.foxnews.com/story/2001/08/31/teen-hacker-coolio-gets-fresh-start-as-head-computer-services-company.html

http://usatoday30.usatoday.com/news/ndstue04.htm

https://www.reddit.com/r/hacking/comments/1ev3p8/has_the_hacker_dennis_coolio_moran_died/

http://www.csoonline.com/article/2130477/security-leadership/133816-7-security-luminaries-lost-in-2013.html

I am starting to think he faked his own death , or I wish he did since there is now a @sinned on steemit! But I know hes gone, its just me hoping he faked his own death :( honestly its something smart that he would be capable of doing, he even left notes an messages like he was "depressed" and he had so many bitcoins hahahahahaha i wouldn't be surprised if he was still alive

and i wish he could be alive to see how amazing bitcoin has become!

I seriously wonder sometimes if HE created bitcoin! It would make so much sense because he was SO excited about bitcoin when it stared! he told me to get as MUCH of it as i could and the grin on his face it was as if he made it himself,

he was so into encryption and everything for him was game! he was such a weirdo LOL but he also was so funny and showed us reality is what we make of it! A master hacker should be like that!

Honestly he may have invented bitcoin, the way he talked about it in 20009 it felt like he did help create it and then couldn't tell anyone, it would be cool if that was the case! he was always talking about encryption and I dunno I hoped he faked his own death and that you were him!

here is his Hack Rank

https://www.soldierx.com/hdb/Coolio
"IRL Name:
Dennis M. Moran
Biography:
Dennis M. Moran, aka Coolio, is an American hacker who at 17, was accused of a series of smurf attacks that shut down some of the most popular sites on the web, and defaced the websites of DARE and RSA Security. While acknowledging the defacement of DARE and RSA, he flatly denied the DoS attacks on Yahoo, eBay, and others.
He was eventually arrested and plead guilty to the defacement charges, as well as unauthorized access of US Army and Air Force computer systems and was sentenced to 9 months in prison.
Mirrors of the defaced DARE and RSA sites can be found here. The DARE site is particularly amusing.
Facts
He was required to help program the jail's computers as part of his sentence
On April 14, 2013, Moran died of a heroin overdose.
Rumors: Was suicidal"

Thats a mini biography of him, to show you hat he accomplished,

Ok I am just going to publish this and go back later an edit it! I keep coming back to my steemit "submit a story" page and I see a story I didnt finish, i usually place it in text file but now I will just post and go back, edit but I had to post this for my friend Dennis who died in 2013 in his memory because he would have LOVED steem as he was a famous hacker etc who loved bitcoin and was involved in the very early days.

Anyway RIP Coolio! I hope your reading this and upvoting from the computer terminal in heaven, Your on God's blockchain now. God Speed Dennis! When Im bitcoin rich i will destroy some bitcoins in your honor

(EDIT: I somehow got an earier version of this because I used chainBB to post this but had an unfinished version on steemit i guess? I had a bunch of stuff about how I was born in September of 1987 during stock market crash and during a lightening storm! I cant find that and a bunch of other stuff like how This document can be a living memorial a living document where people who knew Dennis can comment or tell stories about their crazy and fun experiences with Coolio! This post was NOT to make money! I made that clear that it was a FLUKE Post and I didnt know it would be one of my highest earners! I want to do something Sinned would want with it! (And I have thus given out thousands of dollars in steem since i wrote this)

If you have questions about bitcoin steemit crypto or making money mining like this email [email protected] or text/call me (619) 302 0398 and....

Follow @Ackza

Sort:  

Sorry you lost your friend.

I sometimes wonder about my old IRC buddies. This was way before social media, and people kept pretty anonymous, so there's no way to track anyone down or find a recorded history of anything we said.

I'm pretty sure though, that years later, they are having the same thoughts as me.

what a story ... DAMN... History

I know i feel like it is part of internet history now! I knew it was at the time! I knew that it wa special when i could get on IRC on my first android G1 smartphone and when i saw ids could connect to the intenrt an video chat in3d on a nintendo DS over wifi i knw we were in teh future because in the 90s i ddreamed of connecting y gameboy to a fifty six K modem to play modem onlinebut back then it wasnt obvious to everyone that you COULD ake ANYTHING you wanted! Now theres DIY anything! you can build your own anything! but back then I got a lego mindstorm, and then Ii was ffifteen an i fixeed my frens broke XXBOX with a new power supply and then I got a mod chip and biggr hard ddrive and i really oddd the hell out of Halo made my own Maps played Halo 1 onlne before xbox live using a tunneling program vallled Xbox COnnect it wwas so cool!

anyway I was able to download any xbox game over bit torrent and load them onto the hard drive of the hacked modded xbox! i also moded the wii and made it accept burned DVDs of wii games i also downloaded an gaecube games! and a DVD with all the old SNES and NES and gameboy games all on a built in emulator

anyway I have lots to talk about and should document it all here! Logs of the IRC chat are available on some lyceaum.org archives! @molokobot will join steemit one day soon and hell find it all!

yeah man i have all sorts of cool stufff an friends like the guy who invented the dating algorithm for Zoosk and his dating algorithm started the whole dating site craze!!! he was named @Quackers and he was into btc too ya dennis gave out hundreds of biitcoins to people on that IRC chatroom i shoul contact old memebrs onfacebook see if they have their old compters

wow, thats amazing man, thank you for such an in depth response.. would love to talk to you more about it! maybe we can collab minds in the future, im a musicican but ive always been into tech, and when you said halo i flipped, i have a real soft spot in my heart for halo 3 especially.. yah man thanks take care

Beautiful post, RIP Coolio!

Some minds are too brilliant, the world is not enough...

I am glad I made you remember all the good times you had with your bud dennis. I say that across all of humanity all dennises that exist are badass and dennis s legacy will live through the whole internet. He was part of the forefront of this. THIS WHOLE website might of not existed without his part.

Like I said before If you need me please never hesitate to contact me.
believe me I have no bitcoins I barely have any steem LOL. I almost got into bitcoins in 2009ish almost started mining and tried to join the community but my ignorance to the subject told me to stay away. Now things are more simpler and easier for people who are new to understand.

Anyone who is named dennis stands to all corruption and sees past the bullshit thats everywhere and they try to make it for the better.
This whole article is his will coming out from you. If he saw this right now he would be amazed with this article.
There is a lot of love here.

Id love to see all the corporations fail and this economy to take over. I do not want bad to happen to people but it seems like greedy people are limiting innovation of humanity. Its like a pimple that needs to be popped
one day you will meet him again and if you need support please let me know

lol I am still reading this going hmm is this im? is this him telling me to contact him? lol i had a feeling dennis knew that since the U government gave him a debt of like 1 million dollars, he was sick that alll the millions he would have had in bitcoin would have had to be paid to the same system he hated, so maybe he killed himself so the fees couldn't make them give them the bitcoins ...lol faking his own death and leaving a fake wallet behind that was locked up with no bitcoins or a testnet wallet would hve been his style,

and ill just go on believing that you are him lol

WE might both have similar personalities
Maybe the universe brought me to you to help you out a bit!
That sounds like a courageous way to go and very dedicated to your ideals.
If you do not then people can see past that but he was committed.
The govt should be thanking him for improving security.

I can only pretend haha should hit me on discord sometime or a chatting program that you use id like to talk

ya man just text me whenever 619 302 0398 i have a big network of lots of crypto friends

That was one hell of a story! Amazing...

Beautiful. Crazy. Thanks for sharing.

You should be a millionaire now dude if you listen to your late friend to invest in bitcoin :) , just blog hopping cheers ~ @pinagpala

interesting post. Little like you were in speed when you wrote it lol. I was into the BBS underground scene before iRC so I'm pretty much an old timer. Never involved in hacking. Guess these guys weren't THAT smart though (they all got caught). In any case thanks for sharing your experience. It also tells us 10,000 BTC are out of circulation forever lol

Unless he fakeed his own ddeath! But yeah ill get that btc wallet deposit addres of his so we can check on it see if its been spent
and i wasnt on speed im normally just like that! I have tourettes syndrome and i dont lik uppers i get too twitchy and burnt out feeling! No drugs for me now tho ve been clean like over a year almost two and ivee been on low dose of methadone from my methadone clinic all leegally and prescribedby doctor, recovering heroine adict but i gt drug tested evrry few weeks at the clinic (I get two weeks of takehomees about to get 3 weeks so i only go there oncee every two weks now) and theey dont ven test for Cannabis anymore! and am gllad i have to take drug tests tho keeps me away ffrom stuff like coke or speed from friends socially or benzos which get offered to me by some neighbors once in a while...but im glad i dont do anything but weed, ccuz i feel alot bettr not doing any hard drugseven once in a while!
No no drugs for me!
Just methadone, THC, nicotine, caffeine, seroquel (prescribed) and DMT

yeah a drug free lifestyle for me LOL ya wen i list them all ot it seems liek alot ut i cut downmy seroquel down alot to just a feewmg a night but hlsp me sleep, i ranout recently and it made me just stay up ad steem ffor days, i gotta go t sleep soon tho to avoid that again!

Wow...thanks for the history

Top day story ,no doubt . Sorry for your loss.
Rip sinned.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62349.28
ETH 3026.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67