Keep Yourself Safe From Hackers - Storing YourCrypto Passwords

in #hackers6 years ago

Hello community, great to be here. I hope that the content I post will be helpful to some readers.

I'm a little bit apprehensive logging my password on my computer. I'm not here to frighten you or put you off cryptos, I want to make you aware of the other risks. (And especially steemit as they suggest to store p/w on a text file).

Please can I tell you once upon a time I owner 79 Bitcoins. My husband had a wallet with a seed and he stored it temporarily on the computer. Within 2 hours all the bitcoins disappeared. Today I would have owned over 700,000 USD of the things. I couldn't sleep for a few days after and I felt anger to the person that took them (believe me I am a carer on the outside world and it takes a lot to wind me up). Cryptos are anon, and it's almost impossible to find out who hacks your computer. I still am a believer in cryptos and I won't let it stop me. .. Even though seeing the price of Bitcoin going up makes me feel :/ ...

PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE be aware of how you store info on the computer. I have premium malware and it didn't register the hack. The coins were stored on a USB which wasn't attached to the computers hard drive at the time.

Here is some more info on hacks. https://wikileaks.org/vault7/angelfire/
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So what can you do to keep safe?

  1. The best way I believe is to keep any password for cryptos in a trezor wallet, I really can't fault them .... yet!

2)I like how steemit have generated individual long password but it can be a pain for some to remember (I have trouble remembering my age, hehe).

  1. Another good suggestion I believe is to have a keepsake folder (offline on a piece of paper or even better a book which has other reminders- like we did in the old days and put it in a safe!

  2. May I suggest not to write P/W, password, seed, wallet or anything like that. It gives info way to the hackers! Make sure what you write is cryptic to other people but only you know. eg. If you make a file name "hot kettle" or "water vapor" this may trigger something for you but it's not a search term for a file on the computer. the password can just be logged as it is or make a short paragraph of words and hide the password within the text itself.

I don't know how hackers can automatically find information on random computers.. One thing I did recall is that my screen "jumped". I have a new computer and I am really careful with any pertinent information I have stored on the c\ drive.

Thanks for reading ...

Keep Your Cryptos Safe My friends!

Sort:  

Congratulations @cryptolass! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @cryptolass! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board of Honor

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Saint Nicholas challenge for good boys and girls

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @cryptolass! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17