How to Succeed at Life by Failing Over and Over Again

in #habits5 years ago (edited)

I listened to an interview with James Dyson, the inventor of the Dyson Vacuum, Dyson Fan, Dyson Hand dryer, etc. He remembered the exact number of vacuum cleaner prototypes he made that didn’t work before he succeeded. I remember it being ridiculously high, maybe over a thousand prototypes. He’d change just one thing with each new try, so he’d know what was improving or degrading it. He also had many failures in getting it sold, and many failures after selling it. He was inspiring.

(This is Rome, it wasn’t built in a day.)

The idea of try and try again is bouncing around my mind these past few days, maybe months. One to the major factors in creating a habit is not merely the number of days in a row that we do it, but the number of times a day we do it (if possible more than once a day).

At this time in my life I need to self motivate myself to study as well as do the after study work. I’m finding that if I simply tell myself, “You’re going to learn about XXXX for the next two minutes” it gives me persmission to start without feeling like I’m climbing a mountain. Sometime I only last the two minutes, sometimes it ends up being longer, but I’m getting in the habit of doing it.

Sort:  

Nice post bro.

Thanks for sucess post.

Love this. It is so true -- to succeed in life, you have to be willing to fail. Because you will.

Think of it like a child learning to walk. We don't call that child a failure because he falls down a lot at first and needs to hold on to someone's hand until he is steady on his feet.

We know this is how we learn. So let's remember to transfer this to other things in our lives. And remember you're not a failure...unless you give up trying to improve.

“You’re not a failure unless you give up trying to improve.” Love it. I heard a guy, Jon Kwik, use the phrase “practice makes progress.” That really resonated with me.

Whether you believe you can or you can’t, you’re right- Henry Ford

It’s not how many times you get knocked down, it’s how many times you get up.

This is clean and exquisite =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63318.34
ETH 3108.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97