Please Don't Squeeze The Charmin

in #habits4 years ago

Classic video...first she squeezes the tomatoes, then she squeezes the melons and now she's squeezing the Charmin. Yes I am oh so guilty. If Mr. Whipple were still alive they'd surely be dragging us off to jail for endangering public health. I can see the evening news headline announcements: Corona virus infections rise into the hundreds of thousands with over seven hundred deaths in New York alone, tornadoes touch down in the south leaving hundreds homeless during a pandemic but first tonight a major news announcement from the makers of Charmin that they will pull our much beloved Mr. Whipple and his commercials off the air as to not encourage people to squeeze the Charmin during this pandemic. Mr Whipple like millions of other Americans jobs will fall victim to the rising unemployment numbers in an attempt to curtail the spread of the virus. In a major announcement handed down by the board today the makers of Charmin said that with the scarcity of toilet paper they don't want people fighting over it let alone squeezing it.

I was prompted into writing this post after seeing a comment by someone who said he was asked by a shop owner not to touch a product. He said he told the man, "An apparently healthy young man as yourself should be more concerned about nuclear proliferation than the flu" before opting to take his business elsewhere. I replied it's not just about him it's about protecting what he has and protecting the health of others. I admit it's been really hard trying to break the habit of wanting to squeeze my produce for firmness. I have a rather strange criteria for buying certain items, from the look on some people's faces when I pick up bags of potatoes and start smelling them I guess I'd be considered an oddball. Which isn't out of the norm of reality for me but hey what can you say, there's a reason they put all those holes in those potato bags, they wash the dirt off them and pack them wet, the holes are meant to allow air to dry them and they don't always dry adequately leading to rot. I've had a couple people over time with me who've tried it, they frown as they take a whiff and comment they smell like dirt upon which I instruct them dirt is a good thing rot is a bad thing. I guess they'll never come to understand me but there's nothing more disgusting then opening the bag a few days later and having that permeating smell of rot hit your senses and have spoiled half your lot. When I buy lettuce I make sure it's tightly packed, a firm head of lettuce will last three to four weeks over a loose leaf head of lettuce. I'll pick a couple soft ripe tomatoes for immediate use and couple hard not so red tomatoes for later use. So for me it's been hard not to want to fumble through the produce with my criteria checklist.

I am just one of those people who believe anything can happen or it'd just be my kind of luck. I can envision myself watching the news and all of a sudden there I am and the whole city is looking for this lady seen picking up and sniffing multiple bags of potatoes who may be the origins of an outbreak of half a dozen shoppers resulting in one death. At that point my options would seem to be rather limited. I could immediately run upstairs and shave my head and covert over to being transgender, get in my car and drive to some remote region of the country or I could sit there waiting to be forever labeled as the selfish uncaring woman who shut down a major retailer in town and killed someone during a pandemic. Nah, I think I'll just opt not to squeeze the Charmin.

Sort:  

All that whining and complaining and all that effort to add you to my autovoter and you don't even post. lol ;)

I've posted a couple things in the last week or so. I have another one done it's just I haven't posted it yet. My son is driving me crazy so it's been hard to concentrate. I spent yesterday setting up a pool with him that a friend of his gave him because they were moving to Wisconsin and were limited on what they could take with them. I didn't set it up the last couple years as I felt my grandson was to little yet but now his head and shoulders are above water and he can balance himself rather well now. He was in that thing from the minute the hose went in it until they had to drag him out crying around seven last night...lol. It's a wonder they didn't have to wring him out. Pools can be expensive to operate and keep clean though this one is only half the size of the pool we had when my kids were teenager that we ran for a few years after they shut down the public pool across the street. I knew I'd probably get stuck with the cost of maintaining it and I had other priorities for my dispensable income at the time also. With the virus situation and all the stress he's been going through this so far has proven to be a small just what the doctor ordered thing as it gives them something to do while we are stuck around the house. Plus it's safe for the grand kids, we don't have to worry about exposing them to anyone going to a public beach. Probably today I'll cement in the swing sets so they can go as high as they want on them. I did just have them anchored in using thick galvanized wire attached to those metal dog hooks people put in the ground but with three, four kids rocking it at a time I was always afraid they'd pull them out. I ended up with two after I bought my son and his girlfriend one and they ended up in an apartment complex where they weren't allowed to take it. I had to rearrange them to make room for the pool so now is as good as time as any to cement them down good so they can go gun ho on them. I put up the volleyball netting and they should be able to keep themselves rather busy. I never reattached the slide on the one swing set so I am thinking about cementing the legs in a couple of blocks and using it as a water slide in the pool...I guess it will depend upon how much or how far it will extend into the pool...don't want to take up a whole lot of room.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63183.53
ETH 2643.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78