Hey Steemit, I'm an ocean lover, surfer and gypsy looking to share my travels

in #gypsy6 years ago (edited)

I'm currently 19 years old and living in Long Beach, New York. I've lived in New York, specifically on Long Island, my whole life. Growing up I lived on the Long Island Sound finding my love for water and the ocean pretty early in life. From then on I've spent my summers at the water; hours in the water, days at the beach.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 6.24.05 PM.png

About a year ago I met my boyfriend who turned me onto surfing, never once had I even thought of surfing as a hobby for myself but it quickly became all I wanted to do- find waves and surf, anytime, anywhere. We spent the summer driving to one end of the island to the other, from Long Beach to Montauk, constantly searching for a good break.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 6.24.34 PM.png

These constant day trips turned to weekend trips, camping on the beach, finding anywhere to sleep closest to the ocean so as soon as the sun rose we could hop right back in. I started to appreciate this freedom more, the freedom to go when we wanted to, to do what we wanted to.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 6.25.34 PM.png

So soon fall came around and a place opened up in Long Beach so I moved. Just like that. I was 18 at the time and packed up some clothes, shoes, wetsuits and boards and moved out of my parents. I have been here in Long Beach for about 6 months and I've loved every part of it- the people I've met, living about 2 minutes from the ocean, the surf- but already I am eager to move on, go somewhere else, change my surroundings, experience more. Coming to realization that settling down somewhere long term isn't really in the cards for me. I'm constantly going to be on the search for somewhere new to explore.

Screen Shot 2018-03-03 at 6.23.17 PM.png

I've come to the conclusion that I'm someone who will live and act free of regard for conventional rules, one who lives a vagabond life, a gypsy.
So as a way to encourage a more non traditional way of life, I'm sharing my travels on here, Steemit, with you and anyone else who is interested. And any free spirits feel free to join me.
Cheers,
Gypsea Nicky

Sort:  

Surfer Chic Nicky, I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold, and welcome, and love your photos and I lived in Pottersville near Schroon Lake and Albany, New York. Take care.

What up fam, welcome a board on this platform. Hope you have a great time and meet many like minded individuals. (:

Good luck to your fantastic life! Upvoted

Thank you!!! Cheers!

Hi Nicky how are you? Welcome on Steemit my friend and really cool intro (and pictures - want to travel watching this) ! I would like to connect with other cool steemians, artists and musicians. I’m posting music tutorials and other things related to music (and bitcoins:p). I’m the founder of the free music school communicasound. I'm really pleased to meet you. So i follow you and i will be happy to read your next posts in the futur. If you want, you can do the same and follow me. It’s important to have a family in Steemit :) Greetings from Paris. Peace.

Sounds amazing, so stoked to meet another on here passionate about something.💓💓
Followed u back and look forward to seeing more from u
Peace from NY, gypseanicky🌊🌎

Yes passion is what really matters - and music is my passion since i'm 4 yrs old.. my first and everlasting love :) I also look forward to reading and supporting your next posts. Greetings to NY !

Amazing collection of photos!

Thank you so much!!

Thanks!🤙🏾⚡️⚡️

Greetings From Mr. Crypto!
I enjoyed your post and I'm pleased to meet you!

Please help us grow @rehab22 Follow/UpVote/Resteem
Original Content.

Welcome to Steemit! I'm glad to see you getting involved here and joining in. I hope your experience here is pleasant!

Thank u! Your support is very appreciated🤙🏾💓

Loading...

Congratulations @gypseanicky! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59527.28
ETH 2462.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49