Lifting Goals for 2020

in #gym5 years ago

Lifting Goals for 2020


source

Years come and go where I think to myself "What do I want to do this year? What can I achieve?" and I never write anything down or seriously commit to a goal, even though I point myself in the direction I want to go - then change direction when I either miss food too much or can't stand to see how fat I am. This year is different, I'm setting the goal posts and they aren't moving.

I have so many things going on right now, I think it's important to take a step back and gain some perspective; I want to move back into powerlifting whilst also wanting to run my first 5k, and complete a Tough Mudder; I want abs for summer and I also want to hit some PRs

I want to look back in December of next year - at this blog post in fact - and think "YUP! I said I would do it, and I did."

The Big 4

  • Squat 200kg
  • Deadlift 220kg
  • Bench 140kg
  • Overhead Press 90kg
  • Some of these have been on my list for quite a while, such as a 220kg deadlift or 140kg bench but things just haven't come to pass. I'm consistent, I'm eating like a horse and yet my deadlift just isn't moving - in fact it's regressed recently; right now my squat is my only redeeming lift in terms of progression - something I never thought I would say... ever.

    The Action Plan

    Before jumping into the nitty gritty of programming (something I love), I need to assess where I am right now.

    • Squat: 180kg
    • Bench 110kg
    • Deadlift 200kg
    • Overhead Press ~ 70kg

    • All things considered, it's not incredibly difficult to make those improvements over a year, especially when I consider that I benched 125kg in 2018 before I injured my shoulder, and deadlifted 210kg. The real question is whether I can manage these goals with the competing goals of cardio and weightloss.

      And so, I will say it now, I will hit my 200kg squat and 220kg deadlift before I begin to cut.

      My plan is to run the following programs until I've achieved my Squat and Deadlift goals...
      • 531 Building the Monolith (BTM) until 2nd cycle is complete
      • Deload
      • 531 with Joker Sets for 3 weeks, don't increase TM and move to
      • 531 BTM DUP - Until I hit 157.5 Squat for 5x5 and 180 Deadlift 3x5
      • Candito 6 Week
      • Sort:  

        Congratulations @rykurex! You received a personal award!

        Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

        You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

        Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

        SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
        Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

        Coin Marketplace

        STEEM 0.23
        TRX 0.12
        JST 0.029
        BTC 66625.38
        ETH 3619.34
        USDT 1.00
        SBD 2.89