Pushing physical Limits.

in #gym7 years ago

This story talks about my personal experience with physical fitness.

Prelude: During my time at Draper, I had first thoughts on working out at the Gym to be a healthy person after hearing a speech that spoke of thinking 10x and working 10x.

Damn, That speech was inspiring.

I wanted to be better.
I wanted to be healthy.
I wanted to be active.
And off I went.

This is one person who hasn’t a clue of how or what a routine or a workout session at the gym means.
During one of my ten minutes sessions at the gym, I found Tyler, Chris, Jared and Elliot working out at the gym already, sometimes together sometimes on their own.

Nevertheless, they were all working out and given that they had been at it for quite sometime, they showed me how and why people spend hours lifting, dropping weights and why people do all those weird exercises.
It certainly does help to have people guide you when you start out.

https://www.instagram.com/p/BMQc37nD04-/

Thus began my journey at the gym.

During survival week, I had sufficient time to realize that the only reason I was able to push through most of the physical hurdles we faced was because of all that time spent playing football and tennis for over 12 years.
It wasn’t nice. I wasn’t happy knowing this during survival, but it was true and not a thing could change it.

We are what we put our time into.

Post my session at Draper, I flew to boston where I had sufficient time to work out at the gym.
Once again, I was flinging flailing weights, pretty much replicating everything that the infographic on the side of machine depicted.

Not very productive.

After Boston, I flew to India where I decided to join the gym again.
This Time, there were trainers to help me out.

They showed me different techniques, different ways in which the body absorbs what we feed it,a different approach to pushing my limits when it came to my physique.
There were some unspoken rules at the gym alright.
The real workout began.

Nevertheless, this process continued for 5 Months straight.
No weeks off.

I found it increasingly addictive.
I find that a day without necessary physical exertion is a day wasted in lethargic monotonous activity, something that’s quite disgusting after a while.

Throughout my journey, I managed to cut down on sugar, sodas, salt and chips and all those cookies that I was so accustomed to eating everyday through my previously unhealthy lifestyle.

I feel better everyday knowing that I’m pushing myself to be better.
It is not only physically exhausting but morally satisfying.

I’m not going to try and sell you on to joining a gym or being physically fit for if you felt the need to make a change in your life towards being healthy, you would’ve already done so.

Heck, we got only one life; that too, not very long.

I believe that if we find a need to do something, there isn’t a thing that can stop us and there was this really famous person
that once said,

Just don’t break the chain

You don’t have to be great at something, heck you don’t even have to be good at anything, as long as you keep working at something know you innately want, you’ll get it. Not because you were great or talented or anything of that sort, but because you never stopped.

I look at physical fitness from a similar angle and I urge you to look at it from a different perspective.

I’ve also had the opportunity of practising Tai Chi under Lily Cowles and intend on taking up martial Arts to push my physical limits further.

On the same note, I shall be making some changes to my diet as well to ensure that there’s healthy food fueling my body and not some shityy over cooked oil from some worn out restaurant.

Rather, in much lighter terms,
I want better. I want good. I want great !
I want the best possible that I can provide for myself !

This, I hope would help make a change or much more even grant you a different perspective as to how you view yourself.
All the very best.
Love
Prahalad Belavadi

Sort:  

Motivating story thanks prahaladbelavadi. SirKnight. (Up-voted and following).

Congratulations @prahaladbelavadi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Comment

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Very motivating and inspiring @prahaladbelavadi

full steem ahead!

Thank you @streetstyle

Congratulations @prahaladbelavadi! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 69618.00
ETH 3376.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.76