Come Shoot with XtrodinaryPilot at the #STEEMITGUNCLUB (safety first)

in #guns7 years ago (edited)

Today we will be shooting my AR15 and your instructor will be @XtrodinaryPilot Welcome to #STEEMITGUNCLUB we won't shoot until you have a SAFETY brief.

After picking my son up from school, we had an hour where I drank coffee, he had a smoothie, and we discussed his academics of the day. It's important to take 1 on 1 time with each one of my kids and give them my undivided attention. I get a phone call from Amy Kennedy at Texas Tactical that one of my FFL transfers had completed (transfer of ownership for a firearm). Texas Tactical is a mile away from the coffee shop, so I head over with my son. This is my son wearing Scotty DePreist's  (the owner) night vision Kevlar.

[Desert Night Vision.jpg]



Gear Up

[Pistolas.jpg]


[ThreeAmigos.jpg]

I drop my son off at home and decide that I will head over to my favorite indoor gun range in Houston. It's called Top Gun and it is 20 miles from my home. I prefer it because they allow rapid firing and they keep customer friendly hours. Let's do a safety and gear check before heading in.

Safe Gun Handling

• Always treat the gun as loaded. 

• Always keep the gun pointed in a safe direction.

• Always keep your finger straight and off the trigger until you are ready to shoot. 

• Always keep the gun unloaded until you are ready to use it. 

• Never point the gun at anything you don't intend to destroy. 

• Be sure of your target and what is beyond it. 

• Learn the mechanical and handling characteristics of the gun you are using. 

• Always use proper Ammunition. 

• Be sure the barrel is clear of obstructions before loading and shooting. 

• If your gun fails to fire when the trigger is pulled, hold your shooting position for several seconds; then with the muzzle pointed in a safe direction, carefully unload the gun.

• Don't rely on the gun's safety to keep it from firing. 

• Be aware of your surroundings when handling guns so you don't trip or lose your balance and accidentally point and/or fire the gun at anyone or anything. 

Range Safety

• Know and follow all the rules of the Shooting Range. 

• Listen and do what the Range Master tells you to do. 

• Always keep the barrel pointed down range. 

• Always keep the gun on safe until you intend to shoot. 

• Always wear eye and ear protection before entering the shooting area. 


[AREYSEARS.jpg]


Know your Gun

My AR15 is a DPMS Oracle model. This AR shoots center fire .223 and 5.56, but mine has been modified to shoot full redlined 5.56 NATO rounds. It holds 30+1 rounds of ammunition and at $600, its a deal. It's a great value for an AR15 and can modified to fit your needs or handling desires. My DPMS is outfitted with a Trijicon MRO Night Vision Sight.


                                                  NOW LETS SHOOT!!!!!

[MY WIFE MY 357.jpg]



Take Away

Shooting is a fun and rewarding hobby. It's an opportunity to learn safety while preparing for the worst should that day ever come. If one plans on owning a firearm, it is very important to become proficiently safe and precise with the use of your tool. I look forward to being your instructor next time we visit the #STEEMITGUNCLUB. If you enjoy firearms, tag #STEEMITGUNCLUB and let's go shooting. Oh Yeah, DONT MESS WITH TEXAS!!!! @everittdmickey

Are you enjoying my posts and stories?  If so, please UPVOTE and FOLLOW @xtrodinarypilot our life is an adventure

Black Uncle Sam Credit


Sort:  

Great write up/article man! It's good to see you being really responsible about it as well.

Thanks, I know guns can be a very taboo topic but, ahhh what the heck. Safety First

I want to be John Wick.. teach me

Training starts tomorrow! I don't know what I have planned, but I can do that!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.028
BTC 66338.04
ETH 3306.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.69