70% + of all Shootings happen in the Dark - Are you and your guns night capable?

in #guns7 years ago

Around 1996, our firearms instructor told us for the first time ever to show up at the firing range after 10:00 p.m . He had us wait around until it got real dark outside. We shot in the dark and could not hit our targets after we backed away 10 to 15 feet or more. It was surprisingly awful shooting.

A month later, we received our new agency-issued guns with tritium night sights. We shot quite accurately at night on our firearms range with the night sights - about 90% as accurate as our daytime qualification scores.

With over 70% of shootings occurring at night, get night sights on your pistols and have one rifle with a gen1+ or better night vision scope. Right hunters? You and I know that before dawn or after dusk that you cannot see jack *&^% through a regular scope.

Once you make your guns night capable, by all means go out at night for target practice to get familiar with the night site or night scope sight picture. This takes thorough practice to get used to doing.

*I tried to take a picture of my pistol with night sights in the dark; but, my camera automatically flashed. I cannot provide a picture of them in the dark. They do glow though. You can also have night sights mounted on a rifle too, if you don't want to spend a lot of money on a night vision scope. So, I'll give you a picture of fun shooting in the desert West of the Great Salt Lake. To my deceased friend "Sniper Dave", I wish to say adios amigo and thanks for teaching me, my kids and many agents to hit things at a mile (750 yards with a handgun) & simag0051.jpgee you on the other side.

imag0045.jpg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64599.25
ETH 3467.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55