Wanna discuss gun control?

in #guns6 years ago (edited)

Politically I generally align more with the left than the right with the notable exception of gun control. There are several reasons for this.
I have grown up with guns around and am at ease around them. I was introduced to guns at a very young age and have always enjoyed target shooting (plinking). I understand how they function and how to safely operate them, I have even built a couple of my guns.
I believe gun culture in America has gone far beyond simple self-defense or hunting with many sports evolving around firearms and millions of Americans enjoying them as a hobby. Building, upgrading and modifying your guns is quite satisfying and just because my AR looks cooler than yours doesn't mean it's more likely to hurt someone.
I look at gun control as largely a debate about freedom vs. security. In most instances, this one included, I tend to side with freedom over security. I am comfortable with the risk gun ownership entails.
This is just a start but I'd love to hear input from the community! How do you feel about guns? What are your views on gun control and why?

Sort:  

I have not grown up around guns, but I know that FUD is no reason to be keeping others from accessing and using what they want. It is the same logic of the religious right of the 90's on video games.

At the end of the day someone has to have a gun for society to work, and when they are all in the hands of the government, they have the ability to violate rights unchecked as they have many times throughout history. Much rather have them in the hands of a highly individualized populace. Plus they are fun and taking them away would be a violation of our constitutional and human rights.

BTW we have a growing discord channel for the steemit gun community so feel free to join us man: https://discord.gg/ewbyKtN . Either way, have a new follower and I hope you stick around

I agree with you that guns were important to keep a government in check but unfortunately I believe the government is too big and thoroughly corrupt for even our guns to help anymore. I believe in guns against a tyrannical government in concept but don't see it as a reasonable or rational option in modern society for anything aside from as a deterrent.
Whenever I list defense from the government as one of my reasons to avoid gun control someone invariably pipes up "You know they have drones, right?" I generally say something about how if the government drone strikes a US city that the rest of the country would rise up but I have never felt that that was an adequate response. How do you deal with this debate?

As far as defense against tyrannical government, guns are really a last ditch measure so it's really not accurate to categorize guns as the only means. The preferable measure is counter economics which forces the government to collapse or go full martial law. In the event of martial law. The US would lose all allies and would have war declared against it, I'd wager many US soldiers would go AWOL because they can't get payed and wouldn't kill their own, and the US couldn't arm itself anymore because their currency is valueless.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65269.28
ETH 3441.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62