Basic Gun Maintenence - How to Field Strip and Clean Your Springfield XDMsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #guns7 years ago

_DSC0339.JPG

If you haven't had a chance to shoot or handle a Springfield XDM you are in for a treat. These pistols are extremely light, easy to conceal, and feel great in the hand. The box also comes with a great assortment of accessories including a pistol holster, magazine holster, lock, speed loader, spare magazine, and different grips. The XDM comes in 3 calibers including 9mm, .40, and .45. Mine is a 9mm which holds 19 rounds and has a 3.8" match grade barrel. When cleaning ANY gun always make sure that the magazine is removed and you visually inspect the chamber to ensure no ammunition is present.

For cleaning you will need:

  • synethetic motor oil (I use 5w-30)
  • mineral oil
  • cleaning rags
  • Q-tips
  • toothbrush
  • cleaning rod

_DSC0336.JPG

If you haven't already done so, make sure the magazine is removed and no ammo is chambered. Draw the slide to the rear and lock it open. Rotate the disassemly lever clockwise to a vertical position. Pull the slide to the rear and then gently slide forward and it should come off.

_DSC0337.JPG

Use your thumb or gently slide a screwdriver under the recoil system to pry it lose. This will be under tension so be careful. Now you can remove the barrel from the slide.

_DSC0338.JPG

That's it! You've completed your field strip. This pistol is extremely easy to field strip and maintain. With all inner and moving parts I like to give a good scrubbing of synthetic motor oil dipped on my toothbrush. This oil will penetrate very well and leave your guns operating smoothly. Use a Q-tip to reach tight spots inside the pistol. Wipe clean with a thin rag leaving a thin layer of oil on the surface. Do not leave any standing oil in or on the gun.

When you are confident that you've cleaned all inner parts of the pistol, reassemble the pistol. For the exterior on all guns and tools I use mineral oil. This oil works exceptionally well on metal, wood, and plastics, but doesn't have the heat tolerance of synthetic oils which is I use it on the outside only. Scrub everything with a little mineral oil on your toothbrush and wipe clean with your rags. You can use Q-tips again to reach any tight areas of course.

I hope this will help you the next time you need to clean your pistol. If you own an XDM I'm sure you know they are a pleasure to shoot and easy to maintain. Let me know about your experience with the Springfield XDM.

Rakkasan.jpg

Sort:  

I have the full size XDM .45 tactical and it's great.
Only problem I had was in doing a full disassembly, (because I dropped it in the snow when I was shooting it in a blizzard) I pretty much destroyed the retaining pin/roll pin and had to replace it, but luckily they are only a dollar or so and I had some extras already that I ordered when I first bought it.
As for taurus, I would stay away from anything polymer but some of the older clones of other guns they make are really good like the PT-99 or many revolvers.

I own a XD and XDS and like you said they are easy to disassemble and clean. It literally takes me longer to get all these cleaning supplies ready than the actually cleaning and lubricating of one of these guns.

Unfortunately my sidearm doesn't get cleaned near as often as it should. I carry a Taurus Pt-111 and it is a miserable cuss to reassemble. I don't care how many times I've done it, it is a pain. If there was a test, I'd fail horribly. Other than that, I love that weapon.

I'm interested in this Springfield and will be checking it out. Thanks for sharing.

I would never buy a Taurus personally. I have a Beretta Nano 9mm for sale which comes apart similarly. It is listed on Armslist, but I would have to have a FFL to ship if you were interested.

Haha, you're not the first person to say that. For me it all came down to the feel in my hand. So many others feel awkward and to me, if I don't feel confident holding the weapon, it's useless to me.

I agree. If you have a Springfield dealer nearby you can see their selection of XD, XDM, and XDS. The grip is great on these guns and they should have one to fit your needs.

I just looked them up. The closest one is about 50 miles away, but that's great! Every thing is about 50 miles away, lol.

whether you are a member

Congratulations @rakkasan84! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day
You published a post every day of the week

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62014.91
ETH 2410.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50