Shoot your shot!

in #guns7 years ago

Guns! 9mm, shotguns, revolvers, ARs. Whichever you own, whatever you call it , they all protect, they all kill, they all have different meanings to whomever is in possession of one.

What are the gun laws where you live? Do you agree with them?

  • [ ] I live in Atlanta, Georgia here you don't need a permit to carry or purchase a firearm but it is also law in place as follows ( National Firearms Act "Firearms"
    Georgia Code 16-11-122 and 16-11-124(4) prohibit the possession of a short barreled rifle or shotgun, silencer, explosive device, or machine gun.)
    and the state carry law here is "Pursuant to Georgia Code 16-11-126(a), any person who is not prohibited by law from possessing a handgun or long gun may have or carry on his or her person a weapon or long gun on his or her property or inside his or her home, motor vehicle, or place of business without a valid weapons carry license.
  • [ ] And like the second amendment I believe and agree that a person has the right to carry protection, what I don't agree with is the fact that people who aren't already prohibited by law but have Ill minds are able to possess a weapon and end up harming theirselves or innocent people.
  • [ ] On July 1, 2017 the "campus carry law " or House Bill 280 went into full effect what this law means is that capable students over the age are 21 are legally allowed to carry a weapon on their college campuses.... They’re not allowed in athletic venues, student housing, fraternity and sorority houses, faculty academic offices, offices where disciplinary proceedings are held, spaces where classes are held for high school students including dual-enrollment programs as well as pre-school and childcare facilities. There are many disapprovals of this law from professors and students. They have been protesting it saying that "many students are stressed and sleep deprived adding guns just makes them feel unsafe."

Gun safety and preparedness..

  • [ ] I believe lack of knowledge of any subject makes you incapable of dealing with it! The problem with guns isn't that they are guns but that they fall into the hands of ignorant people. There are many ways to learn about gun safety for your self & family but many people choose not to because they feel as if they don't talk about it then it won't happen, just because you may never introduce a gun to your child, doesn't mean they won't ever interact with one, so why not prepare them ?
    At least one child every other day is killed or critically injured from an accidental shooting. I know mistakes happen but knowledge makes for less of them...https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.pbs.org/newshour/amp/bb/child-dies-every-day-gun-accidents-u-s this is just one of many articles that share these devastating facts.

What age do you feel comfortable with your child learning about firearms?

  • [ ] I have a 5 year old son and he's more mature than many other kids I know his age and even some older so I feel it's the personal judgement of the parent to determine when there child is old enough to learn about guns. I Intend on teaching my son gun safety, operation and instilling in him the common sense of what a gun is for and the seriousness of using it. Most gun ranges allow children in to shoot at around 8 years old. I think that's the perfect environment she you and your child are ready. I feel like 9 or 10 years old will be a great age for him but I won't know until that time actually comes.
    Do you keep a gun?
  • [ ] I do. I carry a 9mm Taurus it holds a single clip , seven rounds , fully equipped with 2 safety features , and loaded chamber indicator. I frequent my local gun range and taught myself safety with it so not only do I know how to use it fully and safely but so that I can teach my son and I don't want to have possession of something I don't know everything about.
    What does a gun mean to you?
  • [ ] I've never answered this question really but it means I'm prepared. It's not safe , if it ever was. .. but the facts are I'm a young woman and even though I don't do much night crawling , that doesn't mean I won't be subject to an attempted crime and nothing makes me exempt from that . Carrying a gun just makes me feel a little more safe that I can protect myself and family if it ever becomes necessary. I also love the look of them and different variations they come in, I actually want to own a small collection in the near future!
    Are you afraid of guns? No! Hearing gunshots is always startling to me at first but then it settles. I feel like I have the right amount of knowledge and know how to where I have no reason to be afraid. IMG_7663.PNGIMG_7662.PNGIMG_7660.PNGIMG_7661.JPG
Sort:  

Congratulations @learninvest-chan! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply
Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60379.35
ETH 2434.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47