You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I was bad at math, but I can shoot straight...

in #guns6 years ago (edited)

It's a rewarding thing to reach out that far with that much accuracy but it takes effort and money. Some degree of success can be achieved with less though of course, but it's not as repeatable and in this form of shooting the first bullet really needs to count generally.

I've spent a long time learning to read the wind and am usually +/- 1 mile an hour accurate (mostly) and my data is very accurate, I mean my muzzle velocities are recorded accurately and the ammunition I reload is done meticulously as is the load development to determine the right load and the rifles node in the first place. I like the technical aspect, but that all culminates in the shot and impact which is why it's done in the first place. Al my equipment is the best I can buy too...And I'm always open to learn.

If you get a book called Accuracy and Precision for long range shooting by Bryan Litz it'll give you a better idea than I ever could. You could also YouTube it.
https://www.youtube.com/user/TiborasaurusRex hers a good place to start. tiborasaurusrex does some great stuff.

Sort:  

Fascinating information. How do you account for wind gusts? Does it make that much of a difference?

Great question.

So, typically I'd wait for a lull back to the wind call I'd made initially or I would simply re-calculate the wind and hold over for that new wind speed. Remember I can make these calculations in my head out to certain distances. If I feel the wind pick up I read it on my face, the trees etc and account for it. Same as if it drops off. I shift point of aim and hold over less.

The worst wind I shot in was 25mph but I still made the shot. This was in a noncompetitive situation of course so I had the time. In a competition then working off an average wind speed and bracketing the target is the only way to do it, that I know of. This essentially means aiming for a point on the target that will still give me an impact even if the wind was going to pick up. Lets say the wind was full-value (3 oclock). I would hold on the inside edge of the plate (gong) using the wind call for the slowest wind I called. That way it'll impact if the wind stays that speed. If it gusted up and shifted my bullet left in-flight then there's still plenty of gong for it to land on. That's the theory. Make sense? It increases the hit factor. Of course if it gusted to 10mph more than expected a miss may result.

I'm sure there's other ways to do it but I'm not a SEAL Sniper and I don't know them. Lives don't depend on my shots. They may in a zombie apocalypse, but not yet.

The other thing is that at long range the wind can be going one way at 400m, the other way at 900m and a totally new way or speed at 1400m. Depends on the terrain but I shoot somewhere that does this. To make that 1400m shot I scope it and read/call the wind at three different ranges. Say, where I am which is easy, half way and then at the target. I use trees, grass, dust picked up, cows tails blowing, mirage...Anything I can. This needs to be done accurately and quickly in a competition.

Let's say I get 5mph, 7mph and 10mph. I'd use 7mph as my wind call. I might favour a particular spot on the gong, bracketing again. Let's say it's going another direction then bracket a little more. Keeping in mind that the bullets I use are very slippery so are not affected by the wind too much. This helps. They are also buzzing along. It will get affected more by the wind as it slows and arcs into the target so that wind call is quite critical. The one near the target. It's all critical though.

Remember that 1000m shot from the post as below?

So, to bring that all together (somehow) let's say I was shooting at a 1MOA target at 1000 metres (1 kilometre away) That's a 10 inch in diameter target. Let's assume I am using a 6mm calibre rifle and an 87grain weight projectile achieving 2950fps MV. (feet per second). There's also a 4mph full value wind (Full value means 90 degrees or 9 oclock or 3 oclock on a clock face) I would need to input 11.6Mil of elevation into the scope and 1.3Mil of right windage.

1.3Mil to the right was the windage dial or holdover with the 4mph wind right? I just threw in 14mph wind also full value into the same calculation and the windage holdover is now 5.1Mil right. Big difference right? This is where bracketing comes in.

I am not expert though, so someone may have other techniques. I hope this helps @papacrusher

Really excellent explanation! I am familiar with bracketing(didn't know the name for it..lol) because of the rare chance a sight is off during qualifying I can adjust my aim to ensure a score regardless of the sight. I also teach this to my guys as far as aiming at the widest part of the human silhouette target because if you are slightly off, you still have a scoring shot.

My next question was going to be about various windpeeds at the distances between you and the target and how you factor that in, but you covered that very well also.

I can run another wind scenario if you like...24mph at 1000m same scenario...8.9Mil right hold.

It's still an achievable shot.

Thanks, I tried to make it simple, not that you're simple, only that I don't always have the words to explain it.

I find this stuff fascinating and yet people watch American Sniper and thing you just point and shoot. Still, better not everyone knows this stuff I guess.

Oh trust me, when it comes to math, I am as simple as they come! lol I feel fortunate to only be shooting out to 200 yards! The only thing I really have to pay attention to is breathing and trigger pull and that is usually only when shooting while standing or kneeling. Well, I do have to make a slight sight picture adjustment because my red dot sight is sighted for 100 yards, but it becomes automatic muscle memory after running so many rounds through a weapon.

I'd love yo come out and do some work with you. I've not done any AR15 shooting as they are regulated here. Would really love to learn some urban stuff. Long range is one thing, IPSC I'm all over it already but that urban stuff with an AR15...That interests me. Nowhere here to do it though. Maybe one day I'll make a trip and you can get me on the range. That would be awesome.

Oh man, you would be a rockstar at it! Especially with your IPSC training. Urban rifle is all about moving and shooting. I think you would get a kick out of the team training. Learning to move and shoot as a 2 -3 - or 4 man team and adding building clearing to round it out. I'll have a badge on you before you leave...lol

That sounds boss dude! I gotta get me there! If I ever did I'd let you know for sure.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64956.33
ETH 3456.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55