Consuming pills can be good for you...

in #guns6 years ago

I consumed 187 pills yesterday with no adverse side effects and not a hint of overdose. I didn't even need a prescription. Yes, you probably guessed it by the photo, I'm talking about freedom pills not pills of the pharmaceutical variety. For those that don't know freedom pills is code for bullets and if you don't know why then you wont actually "get" why even if I told you the reason for the term. Suffice it to say that yesterday I consumed a pile of them, sent them whizzing down range to explode their little lead-heads upon cold hard steel. Well, there were some cardboard torso shapes also so the bullets I sent that way ended up in the dirt mound to be seen no more.

I was at one of my clubs shooting a small match yesterday morning, the first using my new holster, rig and new handgun, and I have to say, I went in feeling a little nervous. I'd shot the gun of course, to make sure it worked and give it a quick sight-in (make sure it shoots straight) but it was nothing like the use it was going to get in this mini-match.

There was only 4 stages (courses of fire) today and based on my elapsed times it all totalled up to 99 seconds of shooting and running or 1.88 bullets fired every second. Targets ranged from 3 metres to 25 metres away and some were partially concealed, moving or had to be shot with the off-hand (one handed using the non-natural hand) which is designed to simulate being shot in the strong arm side and being incapable of shooting with it. Anyway, it's a fair amount of activity in short bursts of time so being unfamiliar with my equipment made me feel quite disadvantaged. I was safe of course. Always safe.

After the course of fire I evaluated the performance. There were no sheep stations riding on the result as it was just a small club match with about 40 competitors and besides, I won't get the results until probably Monday on where I actually placed in my division and overall; I was more interested in how the gun felt and performed though.

And so, how did it feel? The gun, a CZ Shadow 2 9mm, felt awesome! It was smooth in operation. I oil my guns reasonably well to assist with the smoothness but this thing was so much better than my CZP09. (Probably not as good as my STI EDGE, but still exceptional.) The gun settled back onto the target for the second shot and no matter how quickly I pulled the trigger it sent rounds into the same vicinity as the first. After the first stage I felt good about it and started to see myself rising up the ranks in time. I was told that the gun would bring me up about 7-8 places higher and after the first stage I began to believe it.

Scoring is done by dividing the overall hit score by the elapsed time giving a hit factor score which separates and ranks the shooters and so speed is a very critical factor. Shooters are penalised heavily for missing a target (or hitting a hostage/no-shoot target) but a super-quick time scoring C and D hits will probably trump a slower time with higher-scored A and C hits. It doesn't always work that way but without getting complicated that's generally the case; Speed and average accuracy will beat slow and super accurate. I was very happy with the result today and am looking forward to improvement once I start getting some practice time in. There's a big match taking place next Sunday, an inter-club match, in which all clubs around the state will enter and I am shooting in the match also. It will be much more serious of course, not quite shooting for sheep stations, but doing one's best is the rule of thumb. I'll go into it pretty confident with my gear though, especially after yesterday's performance.

So, today is a different story altogether; Yesterday was about me, today is about someone else. 250 of my freedom pills will find their way downrange but I'll probably only fire a handful. I'm taking a friend of mine shooting for the first time. She has never seen a gun in real life, except holstered on a cops belt I guess. She has certainly never fired one. I'll be taking her to my other club which is more set up for training purposes than the one I went to today and will run through every aspect of hand-gunning from what each part of the gun is called and what it does, how to dismantle and reassemble it, how to make it safe, load it, and of course shoot it accurately and quickly. I won't be getting too technical of course, nor will she get to shoot from holstered or do much movement and fire shooting. It's just a basic first lesson and so learning the safe handling and operation of a hand gun is the focus. It'll be a lot of fun for her though and I have to say she has got herself so wound up over it and is extremely excited.

I'll probably do a post about it but she is also on steemit and so am sure she will as well. I'll grab a couple of pictures to share, with her permission, as well. I'm looking forward to it actually. Anytime I get a chance to demonstrate how safe and fun my sport can be I jump at it and the fact she is so damned excited about it makes me feel that way also. So, some freedom pills will make their way home to where they belong (downrange) today...I'll let you know how it goes.

Sort:  

How well did the new holster do? Was there much of a learning curve?

I can't wait to read about her first experience!

The holster went well. A little tight on the draw but that's because it's new. I'm really happy with it so far.

Thanks for your comment @funbobby51. Because you seem like fun (I may have been influenced by your user name) I checked out your blog and decided to throw a follow your way.

I call it Vitamin L

I don't know what this means but if vitamin L means I get to shoot guns then it's all good. :)

L for "lead" ;). Thanks for the follow, your blog looks pretty great as well, doubly impressive if you are able to keep and bear arms down under, followed.

Thanks mate. I write about a lot of things on my blog, all sorts of topics. Just on the gun thing, it's a misconception we can't have them here. I have multiple from handguns, shotguns and long guns (6mm, 6.5mm, 7.62 etc.) Anyway, thanks for the follow.

I know its possible to own them there, and how hard it is! What about carrying though is that possible?

No, we are not permitted to carry, concealed or otherwise. Obviously cops can, and security guards but not private citizens. No a big deal really. I shoot 2-3 times a week, 100-300 rounds depending on what I'm shooting so I get to have some fun. Would carry if permitted but it's not possible.

Sounds like fun! At the beginning I thought medicine 😁

Everyone should give it a try, at least once. There's an honesty and immediacy to it that's difficult to distill down to words. What I do here made that thing happen over there, instantly. Irrevocably.
Those old samurai movies where the ninja catches a bullet in his teeth... all that rubbish goes straight out the window.
Take a tonne of photos even if you don't post them. She might come out of her shell one day and be glad to have them. Enjoy :)

I will, and feel certain you'll see a post from the young lady in the future. She's pretty amped up! 😂

Very nice mate. Glad you're promoting the awesome sport and that these friends of ours don't jump up and spew out pills at random people all on their own. So how did the new rig fare all together?

It all went really well. I have a big competition on Sunday this week so we'll see how I go. Feeling good about the new gun and rig though.

Ag nice man. Would be nice to come see and maybe join in. Miss having some fun

Get your funky ass to Aus then! It's all fun and games here mate.

I'm looking mate, I'm looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 65185.94
ETH 2630.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83